We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good motel room”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The room is designed in a way that is user-friendly and adequate for storing luggage. There is plenty of cupboard space and a small kitchenette area with a microwave, fridge and a plunger for coffee and tea in the cabinet. The restaurant has a big LCD screen and a friendly house dog.
We took a lovely evening walk at the nearby Glaoien Valley park.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank star1ight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    158
    47
    10
    9
See reviews for
46
246
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winmalee
Level Contributor
207 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed in Bella Vista motel's in both Wanaka and Fox Glacier and was very happy with both motels. Fox Glacier was one night stay while touring South Island and all was good. Fox Glacier is only small but the Bella Vista is situated in main street and easy walk to cafes and shops. The staff recommended restaurant for dinner The Last Kitchen which was excellent. Food in NZ was great all round and food at Last Kitchen was as nice a meal as we enjoyed to thumbs up there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richo21282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the motel. It is next to a great restaurant, recommended for dinner. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There's complimentary wifi. The staff were also friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

This was out second stay here.

First things is I forgot that the reception staff (whom I believe are the owners) are rude.
We experienced this last time we stayed and experienced the same rude approach this time around.

The spa pool was out of service. Would of been kind if they had made that known during booking as not many hotels/ motels in Fox Glacier have spa pools. We specially booked this motel for the spa. Very Dissapointed.

The rooms were kept to a high standard although I forgot again from last time, the beds are ROCK hard. Extra blankets are also very scarce in the rooms.

Location is fantastic. Very convienent to the town. That's the only real positive.

Next time, we probably won't return and will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTCOOKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Glad I stayed here when visiting Fox Glacier. Booked one of the small rooms (Compact Studio) and although I'd read reviews that the room was small, price wise was good value for money. I could have booked a larger room, but it had everything I needed and was well laid out, clean and warm. The location was excellent and I could walk across the road to the Guided tours on the Glacier and then to the pub.
Free wifi was provided which was great as I could catch up on emails. Would certainly recommend this motel to others. Staff were very friendly and where able to give good advice on the area.

Room Tip: Ask about Café Neve for pizza
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great motel right in centre of Fox Glacier (the town is quite small though). Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Also free wifi. Only thing was we were on the second floor and there was no lift so carrying three bags up the stairs after a big drive from christchurch was tiring. Lovely little town.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Nice rooms, nice staff, just a perfectly good place to stay. Good heating and good hot water! Thoughtful staff put us in room 11, then said, "oh wait, no I'll put you in room 10. There's a family in room 12 and the kid seemed kinda rambunctious, so just in case." Next morning we put our brochures back in the front office, and the staff was very appreciative that we weren't wasting them. Overall nice place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canada-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Property: Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing