We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well laid out room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our room here was one of the smaller ones but adequate for our needs. It was very clean. There was no hob so this would not be a great choice if you wanted to cook. This is a very tiny town so we could walk anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryann-ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

The room is designed in a way that is user-friendly and adequate for storing luggage. There is plenty of cupboard space and a small kitchenette area with a microwave, fridge and a plunger for coffee and tea in the cabinet. The restaurant has a big LCD screen and a friendly house dog.
We took a lovely evening walk at the nearby Glaoien Valley park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank star1ight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed in Bella Vista motel's in both Wanaka and Fox Glacier and was very happy with both motels. Fox Glacier was one night stay while touring South Island and all was good. Fox Glacier is only small but the Bella Vista is situated in main street and easy walk to cafes and shops. The staff recommended restaurant for dinner The Last Kitchen which was excellent. Food in NZ was great all round and food at Last Kitchen was as nice a meal as we enjoyed to thumbs up there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richo21282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the motel. It is next to a great restaurant, recommended for dinner. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There's complimentary wifi. The staff were also friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

This was out second stay here.

First things is I forgot that the reception staff (whom I believe are the owners) are rude.
We experienced this last time we stayed and experienced the same rude approach this time around.

The spa pool was out of service. Would of been kind if they had made that known during booking as not many hotels/ motels in Fox Glacier have spa pools. We specially booked this motel for the spa. Very Dissapointed.

The rooms were kept to a high standard although I forgot again from last time, the beds are ROCK hard. Extra blankets are also very scarce in the rooms.

Location is fantastic. Very convienent to the town. That's the only real positive.

Next time, we probably won't return and will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTCOOKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Glad I stayed here when visiting Fox Glacier. Booked one of the small rooms (Compact Studio) and although I'd read reviews that the room was small, price wise was good value for money. I could have booked a larger room, but it had everything I needed and was well laid out, clean and warm. The location was excellent and I could walk across the road to the Guided tours on the Glacier and then to the pub.
Free wifi was provided which was great as I could catch up on emails. Would certainly recommend this motel to others. Staff were very friendly and where able to give good advice on the area.

Room Tip: Ask about Café Neve for pizza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great motel right in centre of Fox Glacier (the town is quite small though). Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Also free wifi. Only thing was we were on the second floor and there was no lift so carrying three bags up the stairs after a big drive from christchurch was tiring. Lovely little town.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 11 in Fox Glacier
368 reviews
10 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,425 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 11 in Fox Glacier
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#6 of 11 in Fox Glacier
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £81 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing