We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Adequate lodging”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Fox Glacier as a town doesn't have a lot of choices. The Bella Vista is clean, has a microwave and is within a block or two of pubs and restaurants. The front desk staff was very helpful and patient. We only stayed one night on our way through from Queenstown to Christchurch but I have no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishingchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    160
    47
    10
    9
See reviews for
48
249
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and myself stayed here earlier this month, and after a long day of driving from the east coast it was nice to be checked in by friendly staff who knew the area. We were thinking about visiting lake Matheson in the afternoon but the receptionist said it would be best to go the next morning because the ducks would have come in by now and ruin the reflection. Knowledge like that you can't find in any guide!! Great stay highly recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelcaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel was very clean, modern, well furnished and well maintained. The management was very helpful and flexible. We were able to do laundry and use their spa. The location was excellent--very centrally located on the main street--for enjoying Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fellis4290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Checked in was given a good brief on the area restaurants and things to do. Also got an upgrade to a King room as the motel was not fully booked. The bed/living area was a good size and spotless - very impressed. Kitchen area with a Microwave, toaster and fridge. The town is quite small with a few shops, restaurants and a petrol station. The main attraction her is activities, glacier flights, glacier walks, skydiving etc

Room Tip: Beware of high petrol prices here. Basically due to isolated location from Haast to Greymouth petro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 320KEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good modern motel with all the normal facilities and comfortable bed. Close to the main road but very little road noise due to road being closed at night because of landslip on Haast pass road.

Manager recommended Lake Matheson cafe to us for dinner and also suggested driving along the glacier view road since my wife is a wheelchair user – unfortunately rain was so heavy nothing was visible but we did get a good view of Glacier from road near Lake Matheson during a brief break in the clouds.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A clean, modern, fit-for-purpose comfortable motel with good facilities right in the centre of Fox Glacier Village. The owners are really helpful, I left my camera behind on Christmas Eve and they got it to me in Wanaka, free of charge by Boxing Day (Brilliant service, Thank You). The staff were friendly and knowledgeable of the area.The Last Kitchen next door provides a great dinner after your day of walking around on the glacier. The kitchenette was well equipped, the shower strong and hot.

Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belly5uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very comfortable motel with good facilities right in the centre of Fox Glacire Village. The owners are really helpful, friendly and knowledgable of the mountains and area.
Unfortunately it was the only time on our whole trip that the weather let us down, it never stopped raining so we didin't really see much of the glacier or surrounding area.
The restaurant recommenations were very good and so were the ideas on what to do in the rain.
Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The motel is on 2 floors with no lift so if thats a problem ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizEaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,938 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
19.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Property: Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing