We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay!”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We upgraded to a cabin with ensuite so it cost over $100. The cabin smelled so bad! Clearly the last people to stay had smoked in the cabin - even the pillow and doona smelled. It was hard to sleep. We arrived late so by the time we realized how bad it was it too late to change rooms. Bad night. The toilet in our bathroom also smelled very bad. When i complained to reception in the morning, i got no apologies or refund, just a "Ill make a note to tell the managers". The kids playground was very old and rickety. We didn't use any communal facilities so can't comment on them. I was surprised none of the new cabins were built to take advantage of the view of the mountains - instead all just facing the other motorhomes. We stayed here because of lonely planets recommendation/comments - completely disagree and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georginalouise1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
I am very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay.
We have 24hs onsite managers who are more than willing to help at anytime, I wish you had brought the issue to their attention as soon as you noticed.
I am sorry you did not receive an apology or refund at the time.
I sincerely hope to welcome you again in the future for a much nicer stay.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    174
    54
    15
    7
See reviews for
167
226
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four days, we were very happy with both how close the site was to the main centre yet within walking distance to both lake matheson and fox glacier. The site itself was very modern and our cabin was a treat, spacious with every you need including a large flat screen tv and heated air con.

Helpful staff, large communal areas too.

Recommended for this and quite simply thw views alone of mount cook make this a place worth staying!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashlee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
We really appreciate your feedback.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazelbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent tow nights in a studio cabin, and found it to be very cramped inside, but the small under cover verandah helped to reduce the feeling of claustrophobia. The bed was quite comfortable, but the bathroom was ridiculously small. Water pressure was enough to blast you through the wall though, and like so many NZ accommodation showers, can't be adjusted. The most interesting aspect of the park as a whole is that it doesn't seem to take advantage of the views available. We had to stare at the campervans from our unit, instead of the mountains!

Service at check in (and for any other reason) was very slow due to the small number of staff and the huge number of campervans and campers booking in.

The facilities for campers looked great though. The kitchen and dining facilities were newish and generous, and there is a decent sized laundry with an outdoor clothes line as well as dryers available. Walking distance from town, and on the road to Lake Murchison and views to the glacier. There is a helipad pretty well right next door though, so the smell of av-gas is pretty intense, and the noise of the choppers might drive you crazy if you were there for any length of time. OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beerwench36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
We really appreciate your feedback.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A really good experience, we rang very last minute to book a basic cabin for 4 adults, for 1 night. The staff were super friendly and helpful and gave us plenty of info on the Fox Glacier walks and guided tours which we did the next day. The Holiday Park itself is really clean and tidy with modern facilities and common areas. The bathrooms and showers were possibly the best we saw out of other Holiday Parks we stayed in on our trip around the South Island. The place is well situated, with only a 2-5min walk to the main street. If you have a car I highly recommend you visit the Cafe and Visitor center near Lake Matheson, which is only a 5km drive away from the Fox township on the same road as the Holiday Park. The food is outstanding and the short walk to the lake is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggysaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
We really appreciate your feedback.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This Top 10 campsite is in a great location within easy walking distance of the town. When the clouds around the mountains clear there are great views of the mountains too.

We stayed here one night in a campervan but would have been happy to have stayed longer. The staff were friendly and helpful - the facilities well maintained. We arrived at lunchtime, going out to visit the glacier in the afternoon, and so we arrived whilst the campsite was quiet and almost empty. We were given a powered site at the end of a row, so we were spared the sense of being hemmed in on three sides when the site filled up later.

The morning we left we turned left out of the site and spent a couple of hours walking around Lake Matheson. This was a gorgeous walk through the temperate rainforest. Fox a glacier is fantastic - but be sure you take time out to enjoy the lake too.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a campervan arrive as early as possible to book your pitch and then go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireSue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
We really appreciate your feedback.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The park and unit were fine, everything clean as you would expect. Convenient for town and Lake Metheson. Only disappointment was that you had to pay for even the minimum use of the internet/WiFi. The park was obviously quite popular as a lot of units were occupied and a lot of camper vans were hooked up.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank southgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
We really appreciate your feedback.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

A good experience, check in was friendly, unit near-new and very suitable, and convenient to Fox Glacier mainstreet facilities, the Glacier, and Lake Matheson. The location gave good views of the mountains and bush . Covered parking at unit handy for bad weather, but we were blessed with fine warm conditions.

Room Tip: Our unit on the Eastern edge of the complex was quiet, with unobstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
We really appreciate your feedback.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.5 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
10.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,115 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: Kerr Road | off Cook Flat Rd, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motels offer a wide range of accommodation types to suit all travellers. We have modern motels, self-contained units, lodges, standard cabins, powered and non-powered vehicle sites and tent sites. This accommodation range is matched with excellent communal facilities, and our peaceful rural setting, with the towering Southern Alps visible from all around the park. GET OUTFOXING! Our guests often tell us that they love the local walks, but wish there was more information about what they are looking at. To help you get the most out of your stay we have produced some excellent guide booklets for the best local walks. We call them OUTFOXING Guidebooks, and each booklet takes you to several points of interest along one of the walks, and tells you something incredible about what you're looking at. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing