We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean site, very helpfull staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed one night at the campsite, we enjoyed our stay very much because the camping was clean, well attended, good facilities.
The staff was very helpfull (thanks again Lobke!!) in helping us to book some campsites in the highseason.
Leo van der Stoep, Netherlands

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeovanderStoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Hello

Thank you for the feedback, we really appreciate your comments.
We hope to see you next time.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed one night in one of the cabins. There were only two of us but the cabin slept 5 (a double bed and a triple bunk bed). I have to say I can't imagine how five people would fit in - we struggled with just the two of us. The dining table has four seats, there are only two "comfortable" seats (a small sofa) and there simply is not enough space for bags for five people.
The cooking facilities consist of a double gas ring which was rather alarming (the cooker was clearly pretty old and the gas did not burn smoothly, constantly going out and then relighting on sections of the ring).
The cabin did have a nice covered patio with a picnic table where you could sit out even in the rain. The flies prevented us really enjoying this though.
The site looked rather better set up for camper vans with a pretty good looking lounge area and cooking facilities.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EdinburghDrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We only stayed here for one night in our camper van and we only used the showers which were very clean and hot. But the whole site was clean with great facilities for those without a self contained camper. Reception staff were really helpful and friendly and suggested things to do (such as the night walk in a local forest to see the glow worms for free!) that weren't in the travel guides. It wasn't busy when we stayed and we were allowed to choose where we wanted to park for the night.
My only negative comment would be that if the site was really full, the space bewteen campers wasn't that great and you may feel a bit cramped with a lack of privacy. But overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was backpacking New Zealand with my wife, and we booked a cabin here. We were driving car and wanted to experience caravan and that's what we expected by cabin but landed up in a room. Have no clue why they called it cabin. Kitchen is good and clean however you have to rent kitchenware (plates , utensils). Secondly there are no basic spices in the kitchen as against few other places we stayed. They have good laundry which use would cost around $6 for one wash and dry. Have good play area if you have kids with you. Restrooms are at distance from rooms/cabins, it's bit painful in night as it's very cold. Although excellent place if you driving a caravan.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sidti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We were on holiday exploring the West Coast and stayed overnight to walk the Fox Glacier the next day. Arrived late and found the check-in staff extremely helpful and informative. Check in was easy and hassle free as we had booked ahead in advance. We were also mailed information brochures of activities prior to our arrival. Both the 2 Bedroom and Studio Motels we stayed in were very comfortable, very clean and with ample parking. What we liked most was its location - close to all amenities and just a stone throw from the Fox Glaciers Guides outfit.

Room Tip: Book ahead in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Hello Mike

Thank you for the fantastic review!
I really appreciate your comments.
See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This was my least favourite accommodation in my 2 weeks in South Island. The good was that the location was very near the main street (only street) in Fox Glacier and a short drive to Lake Matheson. We were also greeted by a very helpful and informative (red-haired) staff who took us through the maps of the glaciers, and recommended the walks we could try out and where we could get groceries. The room itself was a good size and we had a double bed and single bed for the two of us. The cooking facilities in the room were great too with a full range of pots, pans and cutlery for cooking.

The downside was smell. We had to contend with a stale smell of mould for the two nights we were there and we suspect it came from the shower curtains. The bed and pillows were also too soft and flat respectively. The day we had to leave, the weather changed and it was so foggy we could not see the mountains or fields outside our door. When we finally decided to ask the front office staff about the safety of driving in that weather (after all we don't experience fog in our country), the nonchalance of the staff was rather disheartening. We really could have had a bit more empathy above the "yeah, the roads will be visible, just don't go crazy and turn on your headlights."

Overall, the room was functional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whisker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here for a night in a campervan during a very recent trip around the South Island of NZ. This was another of the great Top Ten NZ parks, very clean, all the needs for your camper van, and good internet. Clean and hot showers, no dramas at all.

We walked up to the main street of town for dinner in about 7 mins for dinner, so it's well placed too. There's a few choices for eating as well as a Four Square store for your grocery needs.

We didn't book, just showed up at 4 pm, and they seemed to have plenty of sites. By 9pm it was quite full.

I would recommend this place as the one to stay if traveling north-south on the West Coast. Go to Fran's Joseph Glacier in the morning, and then to Fox in the afternoon. You still have enough time to walk the free tracks to both glaciers in the same day. Tours will of course take extra time.

If you are from Australia, join Big 4 parks to get a discount at all Top Ten Parks around NZ. The discount card worked at all Top Ten parks, and we have the added advantage to get discounts at Big 4 parks in Australia for the rest of the year.

NZ exceeded all our expectations, and the Big Ten parks helped make the entire campervan experience so much more comfortable for our family of four.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seyahbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Hello

Thank you so much for such a fantastic and detailed review.
We really appreciate your comments!
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
10.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 11 in Fox Glacier
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 11 in Fox Glacier
421 reviews
10.7 mi away
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: Kerr Road | off Cook Flat Rd, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £40 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motels offer a wide range of accommodation types to suit all travellers. We have modern motels, self-contained units, lodges, standard cabins, powered and non-powered vehicle sites and tent sites. This accommodation range is matched with excellent communal facilities, and our peaceful rural setting, with the towering Southern Alps visible from all around the park. GET OUTFOXING! Our guests often tell us that they love the local walks, but wish there was more information about what they are looking at. To help you get the most out of your stay we have produced some excellent guide booklets for the best local walks. We call them OUTFOXING Guidebooks, and each booklet takes you to several points of interest along one of the walks, and tells you something incredible about what you're looking at. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing