We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the worst hotel experience we had in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Probably the worst hotel experience we had in NZ”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Sadly, this place let us down - actually the only place in the whole country where we experienced poor customer service - check in took about 20 minutes by two girls who did not smile once and just seemed like they couldn't care less. Things didn't improve when we got to our room, which was dirty beyond reason, full of flies and nothing worked (heater, tv). I would advise you to avoid it, although I guess there aren't many options in Fox.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lighter023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Hello

I am so disappointed to hear about your experience.
We have onsite managers who would have been able to find a solution to the issues mentioned.
I hope you enjoyed the rtest of your holiday in New Zealand, I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future for a much nicer stay.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    179
    54
    15
    7
See reviews for
179
233
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in a campervan and were glad we had booked because it was very busy. The site is very conveniently sited for the small town and the heliport and was exceptionally clean and well appointed. Despite being full, there we're sufficient facilities, though it was a shame the hand dryer, and then the hair dryer in the main ladies toilet/shower block didn't work! The staff were really helpful with booking our heli-hike and, overall, we were very impressed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetbriar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for the fantastic review!
I am very pleased to read your comments.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
601 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at this holiday park for one night in Jan 2014. We had a private double room (which also had two bunk beds, so it could have been for four people). There was a heater in the room. Other than that, very basic - just a bed and a chair. There is a mattress, pillowcases and one sheet on the bed, but extra linens (to cover yourself with) can be rented for an additional charge (at the time of our stay it was 6 NZD per person). We had sleeping bags from our recent hike, so we used that instead. The bed was comfortable enough, and we had a good night's sleep.
The park's bathrooms were plenty, clean and had lots of hot water. There was also blow dryers in the women's bathroom. There is a laundry room with two (or three? can't remember) washers and dryers each that can be used for a nominal price (coin operated). It was very busy in the evening at the laundry room, but we still managed to wash our clothes.
There are two big cafeterias with enormous cooking areas and lots of seating. There are no dishes/cutlery/condiments or anything else provided in the kitchens, however, one can rent a set of cooking pots/utensils/dishes for about 5 NZD for the duration of your stay. This was very helpful as restaurants in Fox Glacier are quite expensive. There is one general store that has an ok selection of groceries.
The service at the Park was excellent, we have no complaints. There was also plenty of parking. The price was quite good too, so I'd recommend this place to other staying at Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.
I really appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed 1 night in a self contained cabin. It was very small but nice and clean. OK for a night or two but if staying longer the lack of space could be annoying. Amazing views of the mountains from the site.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for staying with us.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The facilities in this resort are much better than those in Franz Josef. Internet is available from IKS, IAC and Zenbu. The kitchen is very large & everything works. There's a super playground for kids and it's only about 1 km from the town centre

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipperdepheeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for the positive review.
I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights in cabin and was happy with the accommodation. Bit cramped for 2 couples but was fine. Cabin was clean and every thing worked. Some outdoor chairs or a bench would have been welcome. Price was ok. and would stay there again. Not the best park we stayed in during our trip, but far from the worst. Staff very help full and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flemming j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for your feedback.
I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our park.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

After such a long journey it was lovely to be greeted by such friendly and helpful staff!!
There were plenty of brochures available and the staff were great assistance when we were planning/deciding what to do and go and see.
There are lovely views from the site and extremely convenient for touring the Glaciers!
The room we had was very comfortable and the toilet/shower facilities were clean and tidy and there were plenty of them so didn't need to wait at anytime.
The only negative thing is that the internet wasn't free.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylorb008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniTOP10, Office Administrator at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Hello

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.
I really appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.5 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,348 reviews
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Cook View Motel
Mount Cook View Motel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: Kerr Road | off Cook Flat Rd, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motels offer a wide range of accommodation types to suit all travellers. We have modern motels, self-contained units, lodges, standard cabins, powered and non-powered vehicle sites and tent sites. This accommodation range is matched with excellent communal facilities, and our peaceful rural setting, with the towering Southern Alps visible from all around the park. GET OUTFOXING! Our guests often tell us that they love the local walks, but wish there was more information about what they are looking at. To help you get the most out of your stay we have produced some excellent guide booklets for the best local walks. We call them OUTFOXING Guidebooks, and each booklet takes you to several points of interest along one of the walks, and tells you something incredible about what you're looking at. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing