We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location with great views of the Southern Alps”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gillespies Beach

Gillespies Beach
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with great views of the Southern Alps”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great walk on the beach and lovely lagoon, I added Gillespies Beach to my list for sunrise or sunset photo shootings as this time the weather was not the most favourable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Isis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    57
    24
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Quiet!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The beach has outstanding views and there is a great walk to the old gold mining area, but there is not much to see. There is an old Cemetery which is well worth a visit, with a lot of historical interest.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Curate's egg”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We cycled from Fox village - not for the faint hearted - and were a little disappointed that the beach was pebbly and shelved so steeply that only very confident swimmers could use it. The remains of the 19th century drilling gear was interesting but it is quite a trek for not a lot. Beware of sand flies. However we did encounter keas at close quarters which made it worthwhile.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mar186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

After what seemed like a terrible drive along a track that went on and on, there was this wonderful beach and a little community. Lots of young people having a great time. We were so glad we had made the effort to complete the drive. The views back to the mountains were also incredible as the cloud had finally lifted.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last bit of land”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We took the road to the beach, but be advised, at least half of the road is gravel! Took much longer to get there than we would have thought. Again, the weather was windy and cloudy, but it was interesting to be on a beach of the Tasman Sea! There were a lot of rock cairns that people had made...saw some in other places, so that must be a thing people do in NZ...maybe it's the Irish ancestry?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gillespies Beach also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Gillespies Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing