We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Two nights here did not disappoint. Facilities are very good, and the lift and laundry a real bonus. The communal, spacious lounge with its welcoming gas fire was the perfect place for a glass of wine to rest your weary bones after the amazing glacier hikes. Really appreciated the advice from Chris and staff about things to do and see.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyWandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

We had 2 nights here on a West Coast trip and after a small room with a snoring buddy the night before the large rooms here were a haven (we got singles!).
Close to the town centre (it's not that big), friendly staff and a great breakfast.
The manager Chris was a great guy.
Recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We arrived at the Hotel after a long ride from Queenstown.
Our expectations were naturally up after having stayed in wonderful places all along.
and the Te Weheka didn't disappoint.It was located right on the main road in the centre of the small town and very close to the glacier itself.Check-in was a breeze as they already had all our details. Room was big,spacious,clean and very well organised.The bathroom and the shower were very good.Wifi was free upto 50mb which was kind of a no-brainer but then being tired we didn't really feel the pinch to browse.The breakfast in the morning was ok kinds, nothing exhaustive,given the fact the number of guests arent too many,so it was kind of acceptable.
All in all a very good place to stay/relax for a day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This hotel was pricier than similar hotels in other locations. But, its was the nicest in town. The staff was very knowledgable and accommodating. They even extending our breakfast to accommodate a sunrise hike that they suggested. The breakfast was excellent. We would recommend this to anyone visiting fox glacier.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed one night at this boutique hotel on our trip around the South Island in March this year. We were on the second floor with a good view.

We were greeted warmly by the receptionist when we arrived and we soon were settled into our room which though it felt very much like a motel room, was clean and comfortable.

The receptionist was very knowledgeable and we were given lots of information on what we could do whilst staying at Fox Glacier.

The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet.

Room Tip: Take the road out to the lake where there are great views of Mt. Tasman, Mt. Cook and Mt. La Perouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This little gem in Fox Glacier has everything a traveler could want;happy hour, a laundry, great breakfast and views. The staff was helpful and directed us to a free Glow Worm sighting, the best we saw in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Wonderful location with friendly, helpful staff, Nice to have a complementary wine before dinner. A lift to the second floor helped the not so mobile and the rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. Views from the rooms are worth the stay themselves. Dinner and breakfast were very good without being very special - perhaps more fresh fruit would help. The hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance of the town center. All in all a pleasant stay in a homely hotel and a nice change from some of the more commercial enterprises.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wattle1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
9.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
11.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
9.8 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#11 of 11 in Fox Glacier
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel

Address: 15 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £210 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Fox Glacier is a purpose built 20-room property located on State Highway 6, 100 metres from the centre of the township of Fox Glacier. The rooms are 20.6 sq metres with generous 7 sq. metre en suites with separate bath and shower, super king or king single beds, tea and coffee facilities, wifi, iron, arm chairs, writing table, Sky TV, direct dial telephones, individually controlled heating, balconies with views of the surrounding native bush and mountains. Guests access their rooms via undercover parking, which leads to an internal stairway or elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing