We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The staff at the hotel were very welcoming, freindly and extremley helpful. They maximised our short stay by helping us book all the right excursions at the right time.The accomodation was ideal for our stay, rooms a good size and the breakfast perfect. Just made for the ideal vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryandRebecca2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    88
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
182
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Excellently presented boutique hotel, in a prime tourist area where competition is stiff. Really enjoyed our one night stay here. Friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast. Would have loved to stay longer, maybe next time!

Room Tip: Great under cover parking for the car - lovely for an early start up the glacier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HamishLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family of 4 stayed one night. Very, very helpful and friendly management and staff. The rooms were lovely -- the bathrooms in particular were beautiful. The rooms were generous in size, clean, comfortable.

Beginning with helpful information and tips on local restaurants, the staff were welcoming friendly and wonderful, right from the moment of checkin. One member of staff told us she stayed there three years ago, loved it so much asked for a job the next day and stayed. We can see why she'd have done that.

We needed to check out a little later than normal. Very accommodating -- happy to help us and no charge.

Everything about our stay was great. Absolutely no hesitation in strongest possible recommendation.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask the front desk about which restaurants are a good fit and offer great food. He st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Charming stay. We were due to stay 2 nights on a self drive tour of NZ and actually cancelled the first night to stay longer in Queenstown, thinking there wasn't much to do up at Fox but as soon as we arrived at the hotel we realised 2 nights would have been better just to sit and chill in front of their lobby fireplace. It's a place to just stay and relax. Other than the Lake and the Glacier there isn't really much to do but this little hotel is very quaint and really worth staying at(especially when compared to a lot of the mass built Copthorne style hotels in NZ). Also, must say that breakfast was made there and then for us and was delish!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PPCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for a night in Feb 2013. When we booked in, we wished we'd bypassed Haast the night before and spent two nights here instead!. The staff were lovely and friendly and the room was one of the nicest we had in our month travelling around NZ. The breakfast was included in the price and was very nice. Only downside was we would have liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: Top floor room with a balcony overlooking the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We travelled from Wanaka to Fox Glacier recently & we're pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms & bathrooms. The staff were very friendly & knowledgable when it came to booking our Glacier tour. Great laundry facilities, onsite safe parking & breakfast was excellent too. I'd highly recommend this hotel & the Glacier walks!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in July 2013 and absolutely loved the accomodation. Stayed with the family and the kids also loved it. The staff were so welcoming and helpful. The lounge and computer access wonderful, the breakfast just lovely.

Room Tip: Such a quite little town I think any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
10.0 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
9.8 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel

Property: Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Address: 15 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Fox Glacier is a purpose built 20-room property located on State Highway 6, 100 metres from the centre of the township of Fox Glacier. The rooms are 20.6 sq metres with generous 7 sq. metre en suites with separate bath and shower, super king or king single beds, tea and coffee facilities, wifi, iron, arm chairs, writing table, Sky TV, direct dial telephones, individually controlled heating, balconies with views of the surrounding native bush and mountains. Guests access their rooms via undercover parking, which leads to an internal stairway or elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing