We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We recently had a very comfortable stay at Te Weheka. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We found the room to be spacious, quiet, finished well and extras thoughtfully provided. Breakfast was great and the best one we had during our week long trip around the South Island.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaH8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

First impressiions were good with welcoming receptionist and pleasant room. However there were coach loads of elderly people staying there and you couldn't get into the lounge for an afternoon tea and breakfast was a nightmare! The breakfast room was just too small for the number of guests, and it is all self-service, so you end up with queues blocking access to tables and causing confusion.This happened on both mornings,with different coach parties. Also, I asked if I could get my flask filled with coffee before we left (I was willling to pay - and everywhere else it had been no problem), but was told it 'was not possible to do this'. Location is really good, just a couple of minutes walk to the town centre. However I was disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprogg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Delightfully welcoming. Comfortable, perfectly positioned. The staff could not have been more helpful. They made our stay a pleasure. Well priced. Everything a roadside hotel should be. Very comfortable accommodation. Full marks

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SxO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We picked Fox over Franz (6 night stay) because we prefer less night life and more quite and thats what we got, the comforts of the hotel was an added bonus and the drive to Franz was only 30mins so we did the trip a couple of times to visit the hot springs & glacier.

We had room 203, its a small hotel, only 100mtrs from the action on main street (it really is a very small village) and the room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quite. Loved it.

Our room was huge, we had a great balcony and the bathroom - well I soaked in that tub every night and told hubby we have to redo our bathroom for a deep long tub. I had no problems fitting my plus sized 5 11" frame into that tub for a swim and another plus was huge towels.

The hotel offers a continential or hot cooked to order breakfast and both were good.

I would happily recommend and/or stay at this hotel again. A great choice of hotel, many thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denali68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The stay at Distinction Fox Glacier was a good experience more so for the Helli ride package of Mountain helicopter which covered fox glacier and mount cook. But to stay will recommend Franz Joseph as its nore happening with more choices for restaurants. If have some more free time can do the Hot pools and lake walk .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EktaTejwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile


Place is clean and tidy and furniture is all relatively new.
It's accomodation at basic level with no frills.

Perhaps having just arrived from Queenstown where accomodation was top notch, this was disappointing .
Bed room slippers were not provided, a shower which had a wild spray shooting out , and wifi access was poor. We were given a code to access wifi - 50mb free which depleted really quickly with only 2 checks of email .. despite attempting to use it sparingly.
Other motels around us boasted free unlimited wifi .. So this was unsatisfactory.
Do come with your own back up or pre paid wifi card then !

Breakfast was nice with a good spread of fruit. Hot breakfast does tend to come out a little burnt but they do accommodate your requests . What was lovely was the coffee machine where you could have a latte or cappuccino.



Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank NimBiTus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. The room is very clean with good quality amenties. Bathroom.was a good size and water hot.
Views were excellant and the hotel is close to town.
Special mention to 'Cookie' who looks after breakfast. She really makes sure your day gets off to a good start with a great breakfast.
Manager gave us some tips on places to eat and the best way to see the glacier.
Fox is a lot smaller than Franz Joseph but has a lot better 'feel'. With the locals a lot friendlier.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank familytraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
361 reviews
9.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
10.0 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
9.8 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
666 reviews
11.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel

Address: 15 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £131 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Fox Glacier is a purpose built 20-room property located on State Highway 6, 100 metres from the centre of the township of Fox Glacier. The rooms are 20.6 sq metres with generous 7 sq. metre en suites with separate bath and shower, super king or king single beds, tea and coffee facilities, wifi, iron, arm chairs, writing table, Sky TV, direct dial telephones, individually controlled heating, balconies with views of the surrounding native bush and mountains. Guests access their rooms via undercover parking, which leads to an internal stairway or elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing