We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and quiet, but not much else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet, but not much else”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

In the town of Fox Glacier. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Storms knock out the power, but they have a backup generator. The bathroom was small and cramped, with a single sink. Dinner in the dining room was just so-so. The breakfast buffet was poor, canned fruit. It is very damp in this area, since they get 6-7 meters of rain a year. The drapes had mildew on them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    93
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
188
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and confirmed most of our trip through TripAdvisor and we found the site and reviews to be very reliable and at times better than expected. THIS Hotel was the worst place we have ever stayed for the money we paid. No glasses in the room, one tiny soap for 2 for 2 nights, no internet as promised. Told we had to go outside and stand in an area in the rain and cold to get internet. Breakfast was terrible, although the coffee was good.
We talked with Manager and told him they must have made a mistake on the rate ($375) he said not that the tour pp paid more. And yes, filled to the brim with buses and tour groups.
We were so disappointed and I must admit the GM did reduce one nights charge by a fraction as a sign of good faith gesture. I do not recommend this hotel unless you do not care about paying high prices for less than mediocre accommodations. For $125 it would be worth it!!!!

Room Tip: NO tip except if you want to work during the day and need internet request the lounge for sleeping s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilll111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had an over-night here at Fox Glacier. The Te Weheka was basically a very comfortable motel. None of the personal touches of a B & B. I did not find the front desk very helpful. Breakfast was average, but OK. We did not go to the glacier, as we had seen some in Alaska and Canada. The restaurant was booked that evening with a group so we had to walk to a restaurant in town for an unremarkable meal. The best part of the Te Weheka was the laundry where we washed some clothes! If I were to do this trip again, I might check out the next town. When we traveled through Franz Joseph, it seemed more lively than Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowgirl10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

we spent 2 nights here in june as part of our whistle stop tour of the south islands delights. As it happened we were the only guests there for the 2 nights. Our room was lovely, clean and warm. The lady who was there was fantastic and despite us being the only guests she provided full breakfast facilities, with nothing too much trouble. If im ever back again I will certainly stay again and say hello to cookie

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent hotel with a comfortable room furnished with great colour style. Reception were extremely helpful in assisting us to access free Wifi from Zembu and in recommending a good restaurant for a special birthday occasion. Reception also looked after our laundry when we went out for the day

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This small and friendly place in Fox Glacier has all you could wish for, its like a motel that is run like a boutique hotel. Expect personal service, a selection DVD's and music in the room, cosy little restaurant with great food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsharmawinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Way way overpriced but a very acceptable motel. Not sure how they get away with calling themselves a hotel when they offer none of the amenities, service or environment of a hotel. Breakfast was great and the service at the front desk friendly and helpful. More than 2 rock hard pillows and a sagging bed would help to swallow the $350 price tag.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rara1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
10.0 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
9.8 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
18.9 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,938 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel

Property: Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Address: 15 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Fox Glacier is a purpose built 20-room property located on State Highway 6, 100 metres from the centre of the township of Fox Glacier. The rooms are 20.6 sq metres with generous 7 sq. metre en suites with separate bath and shower, super king or king single beds, tea and coffee facilities, wifi, iron, arm chairs, writing table, Sky TV, direct dial telephones, individually controlled heating, balconies with views of the surrounding native bush and mountains. Guests access their rooms via undercover parking, which leads to an internal stairway or elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing