We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peanuts”
Review of The Last Kitchen

The Last Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Fox Glacier, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peanuts”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner waited 40mins or so ordered Venison and only thing I could taste was peanuts average meal overdose of peanut sauce

Helpful?
Thank Jlmen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    230
    51
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The food is fantastic, one of the best we had in New Zealand.
We had steak, lamb and a pasta and all were good.
The service was good too, the waitress was very helpful and nice.
Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank zippee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great food spot in Fox Glacier”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

there is not a lot of gourmet places to be expected in Fox Glacier, in fact I expected not a single one. Our hosts recommended us to glow and we were not disappointed.
The last kitchen is a small place, outside seating is possible. We were lucky to get a table without reservation which might not be the case in high season. The waitresses were very kind and friendly. We selected lamb and venison from the selected menu and it was served fast, nicely presented and the taste was delicious.
The wines are offered at a comparable low price which invites to have a glass more...
So definitely recommended to step interest last kitchen !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Had dinner here one evening and had very good service. We had the Blue Cod and it was baked and seasoned just right. Would have eaten there the second night but it was closed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, definitely recommend”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We came here on both our evenings in Fox Glacier and highly recommend this lovely restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was super, quality ingredients, great presentation, and we appreciated the flexibility in changing the dishes as we requested (swapping chicken for fish in one of the mains).
The Blue cod was outstanding as was the banana and caramel dessert which we shared on the first evening

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank moshsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Last Kitchen also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Last Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing