We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Westhaven”
Review of The Westhaven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westhaven
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Accom at Westhaven Motel (Fox) was booked by tour company - v.good, spacious, clean, modern, dbl lounge chair, big comfy bed & pillows, window wall, shower over bathtub, good TV receptn/selectn. Thankful for help with luggage to room in the rain; thankful for loan of umbrellas. We took the shades off bedside lamps as it is our custom to read before sleep.
Liked being at ground level and close to pub and store. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schafer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for The Westhaven
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

We had a very good experience in this hotel. It's obviously much more than just an investment to the managers. I would not hesitate in chosing it again.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I was travelling with my wife and her parents and we had no booking. We initially stopped at Franz Josef but it had turned into a horrible place since I last stayed there in the 90's. Crowded, overpriced and commericalised and the continual buzz of helicopters giving it a MASH feel. I suggested we drive on to Fox expecting the same, happily it had stayed the same. We were just before peak season last November 2010 and so finding a room was not a problem. The room we had was roomy and fine, nice large bed, good shower and bath. Parking right outside the door. Not the greatest views but fine for a few nights. The owner also recommended Lake Matheson Cafe for dinner which was brilliant and situated beside a lake and if your lucky with the weather you can look upon the alps and see Mt Cook.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxWest, Owner at The Westhaven, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Thanks for your review, of course Fox Glacier is nicer that Franz Josef! (well ok I maybe a little bias). If you want great scenery and a less busier place to visit then Fox Glacier is the one. There are some great Restaurants in Fox and all are very close to The Westhaven. Pleased you enjoyed your meal at Matheson Cafe down at Lake Matheson, Chris and his team do a wonderful job. thanks and regards again Kelvin and Shelley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights between 11th and 13th Jan 2011, to facilitate a heli-hike.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and have everything that you would expect from a fair priced motel room in NZ. No negatives to report of and I would state, that even at the height of summer, there were many vacancies still around, hence we picked these 2 nights up just be arriving on the spot.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garryturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed for two days. Very "used" room, bathtub, etc. People at the counter were nice to us, but apart from that - nothing to add.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Pleasant place to stay on the way out (heading North) of the Fox Glacier settlement which has a couple of basic bar/restaurants but not a lot else that we could see. The rooms are spacious (2 double beds) with a small kitchenette and large bathroom. Reception staff were very friendly, and you can park directly outside your room. Not the best motel we stayed in but definitely not the worst either.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Stayed recently at this Motel. Walk in off the street no pre booking. Greeted by friendly receptionist (A male who happened to be the owner) Paid a premium "peak season" but did not have a problem with this. Had a superking bed and spa bath unit. Our stay was comfortable and pleasant. Only 40 steps to the bar two doors down the road. So thats a bonus!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwifromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
9.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,389 reviews
10.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westhaven

Address: Statehighway 6, Fox Glacier | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £52 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westhaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westhaven in Fox Glacier is located right in the heart of the Fox Glacier township. We are a modern stylish complex with 23 large studio units. Each room is self contained with private en suite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. All rooms have a kitchenette which includes a fridge, microwave and kitchen appliances. Our beds are really comfortable, queen, king and super king beds are all available and all rooms have good heating, beds have electric blankets. We offer FREE internet access and have a guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier
Westhaven Fox Glacier
Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing