We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to relax and see fox glacier.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westhaven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westhaven
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good place to relax and see fox glacier.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is very well located at the village and has parking. The rooms are very nice and clean, with kitchen facilities and a small terrace behind them, the beds are big and very confortable. Charming service, specially from the reception. We had a very good time here. We would definetely come back if we had a chance. The only negative point is that there is no restaurant service, so breakfast is served in the rooms the day before, very simple and basic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    169
    47
    9
    3
See reviews for
54
213
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

ideal location to stay in for your trip to fox glacier. Just meters from the guiding centre. Also within cycling distance of Lake Matherson (we hired bikes from the motel) Clean, spacious rooms with everything you'd need at a reasonable price. Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stugel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed a night here on a last minute decision. The room is clean. The toilet comes with a bathtub. Free wifi is available. It is near to the fox glacier entrance and about 10mins drive. Everything is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Hello lpypeiying and thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Westhaven. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and wish you safe travels home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Helpful and friendly staff, basic room facilities, but clean and tidy. Overall a comfortable stay.
You get what you pay for. Close to all main town attractions. We wish the weather was a bit better so we could enjoy all that Fox Glacier has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GosiaSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Arriving in Fox Glacier, the i was not open so we did our own interrogation of what was available with the help of Lonely Planet and the AA’s Guide. We visited 3/4 abodes but found the Westhaven Motel to be the ‘pick’. The Manager could not have been more welcoming and the room was very comfortable (large with King bed, light and good free wifi). Dinner that night was in the ‘saloon’, only yards from the Motel, and it was one of the best we’ve found in NZ. Next morning we drove up to Mathewson Lake for breakfast – yummy wild fruit and pancakes. In sum, for any visitor to Fox Glacier, you will get value for money at the Westhaven. High Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms Large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello J&JFarnham, thank you for your kind words and review of our motel. We wish you a safe journey home to your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at Westhaven in the 2nd week of October 2013 and had 2 rooms , #21&22
#21 was good, clean, comfortable , 2big double beds , 1 with an electric blanket, lovely shower (not a lot of room to put down toiletries, but ok..) #22 was not good. No electric blanket on the bed, no lid on the toilet,
Just a ¾ curtain around the shower - the whole bathroom was wet. Just a sliver of soap and the room had a 'funny' smell. Lachlan was spot-on with his recommendations for restaurants. Plus : Free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Unless you are wheel-chair-bound , don't get room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzies2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing us Frank, we appreciate your feedback and are pleased you found our location convenient. I am disheartened you did not let us know of your dissatisfaction with room 22. We would loved to have fixed this for you and easily could have moved you. We put you in that room so that your group would be next to each other. There is not meant to be a lid on the toilet and it has a wet floor bathroom because, like you mentioned, it is a disability access bathroom. Some of our guests prefer this room, and we would have happily moved you had we known :) Once again with the soap, we gladly would have provided more had you asked. We wish you all the best with the rest of your adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately when we stayed it rained the entire time but the hotel was great. The rooms were clean and modern, the only down side was the shower, it barely had enough power to wash the soap off! The lady at the front desk was spot on with her recommendations for dinner and breakfast! Overall a great stay!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay Christian! It is tricky with the high rainfall we experience, but as we always say 'you can't have a rainforest without rain!'. We have attended to the issue you mentioned with your shower pressure -thank you for letting us know. We hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
9.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
10.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westhaven

Property: The Westhaven
Address: Statehighway 6, Fox Glacier | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westhaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westhaven in Fox Glacier is located right in the heart of the Fox Glacier township. We are a modern stylish complex with 23 large studio units. Each room is self contained with private en suite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. All rooms have a kitchenette which includes a fridge, microwave and kitchen appliances. Our beds are really comfortable, queen, king and super king beds are all available and all rooms have good heating, beds have electric blankets. We offer FREE internet access and have a guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier
Westhaven Fox Glacier
Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing