We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly host and OK room”
Review of The Westhaven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westhaven
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

On the Plus side: very friendly and helpful host. Room was very clean. Free internet (a little spotty, but I hear this is the case in all of Fox Glacier, so not to be blamed on the motel itself).

On the Minus side: no drawers, so besides the closet where you can hang some clothes, that's about it. Decoration is very cold, and so are the fluorescent lights.

Room Tip: We had unit 18. There are two rows of rooms. The lower numbers (I think till 10 or 12) look older an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is very well located at the village and has parking. The rooms are very nice and clean, with kitchen facilities and a small terrace behind them, the beds are big and very confortable. Charming service, specially from the reception. We had a very good time here. We would definetely come back if we had a chance. The only negative point is that there is no restaurant service, so breakfast is served in the rooms the day before, very simple and basic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

ideal location to stay in for your trip to fox glacier. Just meters from the guiding centre. Also within cycling distance of Lake Matherson (we hired bikes from the motel) Clean, spacious rooms with everything you'd need at a reasonable price. Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stugel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed a night here on a last minute decision. The room is clean. The toilet comes with a bathtub. Free wifi is available. It is near to the fox glacier entrance and about 10mins drive. Everything is good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Hello lpypeiying and thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Westhaven. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and wish you safe travels home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Helpful and friendly staff, basic room facilities, but clean and tidy. Overall a comfortable stay.
You get what you pay for. Close to all main town attractions. We wish the weather was a bit better so we could enjoy all that Fox Glacier has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GosiaSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Arriving in Fox Glacier, the i was not open so we did our own interrogation of what was available with the help of Lonely Planet and the AA’s Guide. We visited 3/4 abodes but found the Westhaven Motel to be the ‘pick’. The Manager could not have been more welcoming and the room was very comfortable (large with King bed, light and good free wifi). Dinner that night was in the ‘saloon’, only yards from the Motel, and it was one of the best we’ve found in NZ. Next morning we drove up to Mathewson Lake for breakfast – yummy wild fruit and pancakes. In sum, for any visitor to Fox Glacier, you will get value for money at the Westhaven. High Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms Large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hello J&JFarnham, thank you for your kind words and review of our motel. We wish you a safe journey home to your family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at Westhaven in the 2nd week of October 2013 and had 2 rooms , #21&22
#21 was good, clean, comfortable , 2big double beds , 1 with an electric blanket, lovely shower (not a lot of room to put down toiletries, but ok..) #22 was not good. No electric blanket on the bed, no lid on the toilet,
Just a ¾ curtain around the shower - the whole bathroom was wet. Just a sliver of soap and the room had a 'funny' smell. Lachlan was spot-on with his recommendations for restaurants. Plus : Free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Unless you are wheel-chair-bound , don't get room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzies2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you very much for reviewing us Frank, we appreciate your feedback and are pleased you found our location convenient. I am disheartened you did not let us know of your dissatisfaction with room 22. We would loved to have fixed this for you and easily could have moved you. We put you in that room so that your group would be next to each other. There is not meant to be a lid on the toilet and it has a wet floor bathroom because, like you mentioned, it is a disability access bathroom. Some of our guests prefer this room, and we would have happily moved you had we known :) Once again with the soap, we gladly would have provided more had you asked. We wish you all the best with the rest of your adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
9.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
10.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,250 reviews
11.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 11 in Fox Glacier
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 11 in Fox Glacier
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westhaven

Address: Statehighway 6, Fox Glacier | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £81 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westhaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westhaven in Fox Glacier is located right in the heart of the Fox Glacier township. We are a modern stylish complex with 23 large studio units. Each room is self contained with private en suite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. All rooms have a kitchenette which includes a fridge, microwave and kitchen appliances. Our beds are really comfortable, queen, king and super king beds are all available and all rooms have good heating, beds have electric blankets. We offer FREE internet access and have a guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier
Westhaven Fox Glacier
Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing