We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious room”
Review of The Westhaven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westhaven
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Westhaven with kids aged 4 and 6. The room was clean, and opened onto a grassed enclosed area so if you're travelling with young kids that's a plus. Kitchenette had a fridge, kettle, plunger and supplies of tea, hot coco and coffee sachets, but there's no hotplate (or I didn't see one). The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. There's a laundry room that you can use free of charge (free washer; you have to pay $2 for 20 minutes of dryer use) and you can purchase detergent at the reception for $1 per sachet. Fox Glacier is very small so restaurants are within walking distance. Free wifi and there is a fairly good selection of DVDs available for loan from the reception, including a few kids movies.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friendlybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

The motel is centrally located and is near to the shops and restaurants. The unit has a spacious toilet and bathroom and sitting area. There was free wifi and washing of laundry was free. You only need to pay $2 for the dryer. The reception was helpful with advice and made our stay a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Forest1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Very clean, interior looking stylish and new. Did not expect that from a motel in a tourist-only destination like Fox Glacier. Good beds, very large room. Only minor drawback: the room was quite dark due to the large hedgerow close to the window.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holger814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Value for money. Very friendly and informative staff. Right smack in the middle of town hence walking distance to all the shops. Room was spacious and well equipped with a tub, kitchenette. There's a balcony too. Would strongly recommend!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank aqid710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The owner is very nice and had introduced us great food! My 9 year old son finished the whole lamb shanks by himself.
The room is very clean. Great stay, value for money. Will recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Babydove2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The motel room was spotlessly clean and had attractive sheets on the bed, which was also very comfortable. The night we stayed it was very quiet. Staff were friendly. The units are fairly unimaginative but perfectly fine for a night or two. They are also in easy walking distance of the cafes and restaurants and located very close to the glacier. We appreciated the recommendation to try the café near Lake Matheson, which was lovely with good food and outlook. We also liked the gift shop located near the café.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PeeJayAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in a Studio unit at the Westhaven. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was very well presented and equipped. Bed was comfortable. Onsite Manageress was very friendly and helpful. Property was very close to all shops, cafes etc. and only about a 4 klm drive to Lake Mathieson. Would definitely recommend it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: We had Room 10. I should think all rooms would be a similar standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
9.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,399 reviews
10.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westhaven

Address: Statehighway 6, Fox Glacier | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £70 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westhaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westhaven in Fox Glacier is located right in the heart of the Fox Glacier township. We are a modern stylish complex with 23 large studio units. Each room is self contained with private en suite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. All rooms have a kitchenette which includes a fridge, microwave and kitchen appliances. Our beds are really comfortable, queen, king and super king beds are all available and all rooms have good heating, beds have electric blankets. We offer FREE internet access and have a guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier
Westhaven Fox Glacier
Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing