We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most lovely hosts”
Review of The Westhaven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westhaven
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The shower is rubbish...that's the only bad thing about this place! The hosts are the kind you would hope to meet, we stayed here whilst the storm hit the West Coast. Roads were closed, power was down, complete nightmare!! However we were put at ease with the updates and general knowledge of the weather from the hosts who were only too happy to offer tea and coffee. Beds are comfy, its in an ideal location for the Fox Glacier tour centre, plenty of cafes and places to eat around.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Overall a friendly place. Good location in town. Nice facility. Room smelled like cigarette smoke. I do see they charge a fine to those who smoke in the rooms, but do they apply this extra charge to deodourizing the room. Would still recommend and return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

So glad I stayed here while in Fox Glacier. The room itself was great - spacious with a handy kitchenette, and there are laundry facilities on the grounds as well (free to wash, $2 to dry). What made my stay especially wonderful were the hosts, who were super kind and friendly. I was offered a ride to (and back from) Lake Matheson, which is about 6km away from the town, when the hostess found out I was traveling alone without a car!

They also offer special discounted prices for helicopter rides to the glacier, which was perfect since the walk-up hikes were cancelled while I was there... and the ride up ended up being one of the highlights of my trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank xjynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with family from the U.K., the rooms are extremely large and spacious, modern & clean.
The lady at check in, possibly the owner was wanted to help, extremely friendly and had a local knowledge that was true and unbiased
Would Defiantly recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

What an amazing place to stay. Handy to all locations, great parking, excellent facilities but to add to an already amazing line up, the hosts go far beyond the call of duty for friendliness, helpfulness and cheerfulness. Spotlessly clean and comfortable I would rate this as highly recommended. Did I mention good value for money as well!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well placed for quietness, privacy and access but ask the hosts - they are MORE th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Westhaven Motel in February 2014 for two nights during the time we hiked on Fox Glacier. This is a charming little town and the Westhaven was a well-located and restful sanctuary after the hike. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. It was well equipped and quiet. Even though we were located closest to the road, we didn't hear a sound all night. Restaurants, a bakery and a small grocery store are just a minute walk away. There are several nice looking hotels in Fox Glacier, but they'd have to go far to beat the warm hospitality of Simon and Rebecca, who are the hosts and managers of the Westhaven. They made us feel welcome and Simon went out of his way to do us a special favor. I highly recommend this fine motel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basecampd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great little motel a stones throw from Fox Glacier...nice big room and several restaurants within 2 minute walk. We'd definitely stay there again on a future trip. The views are also something special - mountains directly behind the motel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
9.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,426 reviews
10.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,249 reviews
11.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 11 in Fox Glacier
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 11 in Fox Glacier
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westhaven

Address: Statehighway 6, Fox Glacier | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £82 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westhaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westhaven in Fox Glacier is located right in the heart of the Fox Glacier township. We are a modern stylish complex with 23 large studio units. Each room is self contained with private en suite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. All rooms have a kitchenette which includes a fridge, microwave and kitchen appliances. Our beds are really comfortable, queen, king and super king beds are all available and all rooms have good heating, beds have electric blankets. We offer FREE internet access and have a guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier
Westhaven Fox Glacier
Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing