We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westhaven
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
137
178
50
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
178
50
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifimiddle of townnecessary amenitiesgood sizesmall kitchenetteheli hikelake mathesonfox glacier guidingdvd playercentral locationsmall towneasy accessmodern motelenjoyed our staynight stayfranz josefnice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The shower is rubbish...that's the only bad thing about this place! The hosts are the kind you would hope to meet, we stayed here whilst the storm hit the West Coast. Roads were closed, power was down, complete nightmare!! However we were put at ease with the updates and general knowledge of the weather from the hosts who were only too happy to offer tea and coffee. Beds are comfy, its in an ideal location for the Fox Glacier tour centre, plenty of cafes and places to eat around.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Overall a friendly place. Good location in town. Nice facility. Room smelled like cigarette smoke. I do see they charge a fine to those who smoke in the rooms, but do they apply this extra charge to deodourizing the room. Would still recommend and return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

So glad I stayed here while in Fox Glacier. The room itself was great - spacious with a handy kitchenette, and there are laundry facilities on the grounds as well (free to wash, $2 to dry). What made my stay especially wonderful were the hosts, who were super kind and friendly. I was offered a ride to (and back from) Lake Matheson, which is about 6km away from the town, when the hostess found out I was traveling alone without a car!

They also offer special discounted prices for helicopter rides to the glacier, which was perfect since the walk-up hikes were cancelled while I was there... and the ride up ended up being one of the highlights of my trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank xjynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with family from the U.K., the rooms are extremely large and spacious, modern & clean.
The lady at check in, possibly the owner was wanted to help, extremely friendly and had a local knowledge that was true and unbiased
Would Defiantly recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

What an amazing place to stay. Handy to all locations, great parking, excellent facilities but to add to an already amazing line up, the hosts go far beyond the call of duty for friendliness, helpfulness and cheerfulness. Spotlessly clean and comfortable I would rate this as highly recommended. Did I mention good value for money as well!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well placed for quietness, privacy and access but ask the hosts - they are MORE than happy to fill any needs to make your stay enjoyable (and I am not paid to say this)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews