We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westhaven
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
137
178
50
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
178
50
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifimiddle of townnecessary amenitiesgood sizesmall kitchenetteheli hikelake mathesonfox glacier guidingdvd playercentral locationsmall towneasy accessmodern motelenjoyed our staynight stayfranz josefnice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

The Westhaven is the least preferable option in Fox Glacier. The rooms are clean and that is the best that can be said of this motel. Upon arrival I was escorted to my room which was freezing. The gal at reception said it was fine to her but of course she was wearing her coat, scarf and hat. I suppose if you want to keep your outdoor gear on inside then it's fine. The head did not function nor did the floor tiles warm up. There was barely any hot water pressure. Breakfast was HORRIBLE! They gave me two pieces of bread and said I could toast it myself in the morning. Along with a fruit cup, this was definitely not worth $12.

And then, it got worse! The powere went out and the Westhaven is one of the only places in town with NO generator. Without power it got considerabley colder in the room. The wake up call never came b/c phone lines were down. Staff offered no flashlights. It was impossible to stay there and yet they did not refund me for checking out early b/c they said they have a 48- hour cancellation policy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrottertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxWest, Owner at The Westhaven, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2010

It is hard to believe this is our property. We have to say we was quite disheartened that this guest did not enjoy their stay in Fox Glacier or The Westhaven. Without getting emotive about all of this we encourage readers and reviewers to see our other reviews. Just some honest facts....all of our rooms are well insulated, doubled glazed and have fantastic wall heaters (not the noisey type). Each room has underfloor heating and the beds all have electric blankets on them. Our rooms are very warm and comfortable. Our showers meet the Enviro Qualmark requirement of 6 plus litres per minute and I have tested this particular room and it flows at a rate of 6.5 litres per minute. We do actually have an emergency power generator and are actually one of the only motels in Fox Glacier that does. This generator was not turned on as the power went out at 3.30am on this morning and came back on at 9.30am and we deemed it better that people could sleep rather than waking them up. Unfortunately we have no control over the weather or the odd power cut we get in Fox Glacier from time to time. We are just sorry this guest did not stay on and enjoy the rest of her stay in Fox Glacier and the great weather that returned later that day. regards Kelvin and Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The receptionist walked us to our room which was a very nice touch. Both the room and bath were extra large and clean. We had two king size beds which was a treat. Loved the heated tiles in the bath and entry. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed in an Executive Queen unit (2 couples in twin queen beds) at the Westhaven for 1 night in Jan 2010. The website said 'luxury' but I would say 'very nice'. Luxury implies there are lots of mod cons. Apart from a TV and a microwave there wasn't much else. The beds were only separated by a bedside table - not great when one of the party snores! Overall, we found it expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markcanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

we didn't want to stay at a b&b, so we booked an executive king studio suite for 2 nights here. large room with kitchenette, small couch, and king size bed. large bathroom with spa tub. everything was clean and comfortable. like others have said, they have internet for $10, but the reception was very poor. we ended up sitting on the floor in front of the kitchenette in order to receive the signal. great location in the middle of town and next to all the restaurants and market. felt like the room rate was a bit high, but i'm assuming it is because this is a small town with limited accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Spacious clean room (no.6).+ small kitchenette.
Bed is great & comfy, modern nice bathroom,car park just infront of the room.
A very friendly & helpful host.
What more do you need?

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews