We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay”
Review of Fox Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We only stayed one night and were really impressed with this accommodation. As we loved this part of New Zealand I am sure we will visit this area again and will definitely stay here for a longer duration. The landlady was very helpful and arranged our helicopter ride and advised us where to find a good restaurant.
A very nice place to stay with beautiful country side to explore on the door step.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_St_Helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    78
    24
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
166
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Having driven from Greymouth with a stop along the way for a quick helicopter flight over the glaciers it was great to find the room I had booked was spacious & inviting, the bed comfortable and a lovely hot shower, the fresh flowers were also a lovely touch. Deborah the host was very friendly and helpful.Location is great with everything within easy walking distance, Discovering later that evening I had lost my credit card I checked with Deborah to see if it had been handed in, no such luck, she made a phone call & I was advised that the card had been located (some 60kms away) & to leave it to her and it would be returned to me. Sure enough, 8am the next morning there she was at my door with my c/card, such relief. On my departure she was very helpful with advice of where to go and what to see on my continuing journey, if only everyone was as helpful!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumbleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were greated warmly by the host and she even showed us to our room as well as pointing out where the morning breakfast would be served. We were also told to stop by here and make a cup of coffee and enjoy a slice of the afternoon cake if we wanted to.
On the side of the inn, they offered RV parking however all RVs were very small (by US standard - not much larger than a van). The bed was very comfortable and it even offered a small writing desk.

The location was great, a block away from the main road-the only road through town so the hotel was quiet, but it was an easy short walk to the corner restaurant Last Kitchen/Plateau - (well worth a meal!) and Fox Glacier Guides who took us up on the Glacier the following day.
We were very fortunate to miss the rain the day before we arrived and only experience a downpour with heavy winds on the day we left. We highly recommend that you stay two nights to have flexibility should you experience some wet weather.
We drove past the large Glacier town - Franz Joseph, but found Fox to be smaller and more inviting while still offering several great food places as well several tour companies for last minute tour sign ups.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meklof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked a self-contained family unit with a few hours notice for $160, and were delighted with what we were given. A log-cabin style room in a terrace of four - looking over the camper van site so nothing special to see, but inside was cosy. One separate bedroom with two single beds, one double bed in the main living/kitchen/dining area, and a large shower bathroom. A microwave and an electric frying pan are provided which was enough to make a cooked breakfast although there wasn't much room to work. The hostess was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Really nice start to our holiday here. Deborah was very helpful with all questions and looked after us very we'll. the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast room had everything we needed to have a good start to the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceský Krumlov
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We experienced car trouble when approaching the Fox..Deborah was amazing, talked to mechanic, assisted with after hour phone numbers, communicated with van hire company and then came to our site with much needed and appropriate refreshments. This made, what could have been a disaster, one of our most relaxed and welcoming stays.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

the lodge is beautiful with a cosy feel and includes a gas fireplace, kitchen, upstairs bedroom tat looks out to the beautiful surroundings. staff were helpful and is in the heart of the small town. a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halmoni48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Lodge

Property: Fox Glacier Lodge
Address: Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox Glacier Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern solid timber, purpose-built Lodge is in the heart of the Fox Glacier Village. We have B&B style accommodation & self-contained units, some with double spa baths. We are the closest accommodation to the Glacier & only a one minute walk to all cafes, restaurants & shops. Enjoy our tranquil setting, surrounded by rain forest with mountain views. Laundry facilities & mountain bikes for your use. We are happy to assist you with booking local activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing