We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Matheson Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westhaven(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
174
167
54
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
167
54
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake mathesonundercover parkingcar portthe managersking studiolady on receptionwalking distance to townnew zealandbedroom unitplace to staythe main roadstayed one nightcooking facilitiessouth islandspa bathquiet locationshort drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We traveled in four and stay in a 2 bedrooms apartment for 2 nights.
The apartment is well equipped with cooking utensils.Room are clean and beds are super comfortable. This probably the best stay in our 14 days NZ trip.
The owner (i forgotten her name) is a very warm and kind person. She offered us a drive to Lake Matheson when we actually just intended to check with her whether there is a shuttle services in town to the lake. She even sent us to the bus station on our departure day to our next destination also.
The only point to be improved probably is the WIFI service. Hope to have a more stable WIFI in future. Overall is a nice and enjoyable experience with Lake Matheson.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherineaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were only here for one night but wished we could have stayed longer.
Convenient location, a longish walk up into town, nice and quiet.
The managers were very friendly and helpful and gave us some good advice.
The room was excellent, as were the facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We enjoyed our night at this motel from start to end. The managers were so friendly and accommodating. Lent us torches (flash lights) for the glow worm trail when we arrived and even gave us a ride down to Lake Matheson (to try to get a view of the elusive Mt. Cook) after our glacier walk in the morning. Their kindness really helped us to make the most of our short time at Fox glacier. A big thank you to them! By the way, we got a great night's sleep in a pleasant room which is really the most important thing? :-)

Room Tip: Everything is fairly expensive at Fox glacier, but we enjoyed a decent drink and a rugby game at the white pub -I think it's called. A very short walk from the motel. Have a walk and see the glow worms on the trail too.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniveego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We just stayed for one night but wished we had a longer stay at this beautiful cottage. The rooms are very cozy an comfortable with all the basic amenities intact. The kitchen was well equipped too. We had taken a room with the spa and after a long drive ( almost 600kms) weren't we glad of our decision. It was very well heated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerChachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We only have positive things to say. The accommodation is clean, spacious and modern. The kitchen area is well equipped and there is a spacious bathroom with a large corner bath. This is amongst the best motels we have stayed in so far on our tour (I think is is the twelfth). We recommend it to anyone staying in the Fox Glacier area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korsakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews