We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Matheson Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful. For the price of a 2 bedroom apartment it's not really worth it. The town puts up its prices because of its location and they can, so I guess it's not their fault, except for we didn't have any power in the bedrooms. They had already given it to us at discount price but then we found we didn't have the power they didn't offer to discount more. It made us feel that they already new but didn't tell us about it. But the rooms were clean an tidy, nothing special though

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzasoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    152
    51
    11
    0
See reviews for
67
226
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here in Jul'12 for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. The place was clean and cosy and overlooking a huge garden. There was no central heating but the electric heaters and blankets were sufficient to keep us warm during the winter nights. Parking is just outside your unit. Location very convenient and close to the city centre and cafes and tour operators. It was a enjoyable stay, unfortunately didn't get to know the hostess much as we are out and about the whole time. Loved the Saloon pub/cafe nearby, good and hearty food :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DentGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We here for 2nights.
The manager very friendly. She offer a ride for us to lake matheson and shown us the exclusive view of mount cook on the way to lake matheson.
The room is excellent and we have a good rest at night time.
From motel to town just a few minutes walk.
One of the best motel we ever stayed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JiaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We traveled in four and stay in a 2 bedrooms apartment for 2 nights.
The apartment is well equipped with cooking utensils.Room are clean and beds are super comfortable. This probably the best stay in our 14 days NZ trip.
The owner (i forgotten her name) is a very warm and kind person. She offered us a drive to Lake Matheson when we actually just intended to check with her whether there is a shuttle services in town to the lake. She even sent us to the bus station on our departure day to our next destination also.
The only point to be improved probably is the WIFI service. Hope to have a more stable WIFI in future. Overall is a nice and enjoyable experience with Lake Matheson.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherineaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were only here for one night but wished we could have stayed longer.
Convenient location, a longish walk up into town, nice and quiet.
The managers were very friendly and helpful and gave us some good advice.
The room was excellent, as were the facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We enjoyed our night at this motel from start to end. The managers were so friendly and accommodating. Lent us torches (flash lights) for the glow worm trail when we arrived and even gave us a ride down to Lake Matheson (to try to get a view of the elusive Mt. Cook) after our glacier walk in the morning. Their kindness really helped us to make the most of our short time at Fox glacier. A big thank you to them! By the way, we got a great night's sleep in a pleasant room which is really the most important thing? :-)

Room Tip: Everything is fairly expensive at Fox glacier, but we enjoyed a decent drink and a rugby game at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniveego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We just stayed for one night but wished we had a longer stay at this beautiful cottage. The rooms are very cozy an comfortable with all the basic amenities intact. The kitchen was well equipped too. We had taken a room with the spa and after a long drive ( almost 600kms) weren't we glad of our decision. It was very well heated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerChachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Cook View Motel
Mount Cook View Motel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Property: Lake Matheson Motel
Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; while we are not on the edge of the Lake, we are only a ten drive away and the same for the Glacier. Our motto is 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions and utensils. We have a 4 star grade with Qualmark. So come and enjoy our studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have WIFI,undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King and Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Heather and Mike, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing