We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay with 3 kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Matheson Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for one night with our 3 kids. One of the more spacious units we stayed at on our trip for a bigger family. Also one of the less expensive stays. Nice and toasty warm with all the heaters on after our chilly and wet west coast hike up to the fox glacier. Simple, clean, comfortable, and warm. Wifi was also fast and reliable, something that we didn't always find in our travels. Would recommend to others, great location.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ebranties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the Lake Matheson Motel in April this year for two nights and what a pleasant stay it turned out to be. Our one bedroom unit was lovely and warm when we arrived (thanks to Heather) and everything thing in our unit was perfect. On the first day when went for a walk to Lake Matheson which is well worth the trip. There are plenty of great places to eat in Fox Glacier and its a great place to visit. If you are ever in Fox, look up Mike & Heather at Lake Matheson Motels as they are both great to chat to and will help you in any way they can to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chrisrl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The room was freezing cold, the room was small with no privacy from the street unless the curtains were closed, the wifi didn't work and the reception staff were inattentive. Luckily I had got an online deal for a cheaper price or I would have been disappointed with what I had received for my money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Isobel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

WOW we are a bit shell shocked!!
Yes we were having trouble with our WIFI after a prolonged period of bad weather and power cuts. This has now been resolved. However, all guests for this 4 day period (until the computer repairman arrived) were advised that there was no charge for WIFI as it was a bit hit and miss from the units. However, it was perfect in the office and all guests were told to make themselves at home and come and sit in the office anytime to use the wifi - unlimited, guaranteed coverage and for free.

As you will see from other reviews the units are extremely warm as we have large electric heaters with high-powered convector fans to push the heat around the rooms quickly. The heaters kw's are far in excess for the size of room this guest was staying in. As well as these heaters, the beds have electric blankets so totally miffed about this guest being cold unless she didn't know how to use the heater? In which case she only had to ask.
We feel dreadful that she stayed for 2 nights and was cold - completely unnecessary had she just approached us.

Yes the unit this guest stayed in faces a residential road (not a busy main road) - but sits about 10 metres off the road, with a camelia hedge between the unit and the road. The units also have voile curtains for added privacy - so it was again, completely unnecessary to pull the main curtains for privacy. There were also no rooms booked past this room, so no other customers would have been walking past their door at any time. And had this been a real issue, we have another 16 units at the back which this guest would have been more than welcome to move to - we would far rather had done this at the time to ensure a great stay was had, rather than having to deal with this at this stage where we cannot remedy a thing.

And lastly, our managers were gutted about the service comment. They specifically remember this guest because of her demeanour from beginning to end, and tried their best to engage with her at the time, but to no avail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed one night in Two bedroom unit and requested for 2king beds. This motel has only one floor. All rooms are on the first floor, fully furnished and clean. My unti has 2bedrooms, 1lounge consist of living room with sofa, dining table and kitchen. Kitchen is very well equipped and has all you need, but no oven. The window is not quite high, and my mom feet like that is not safe overnight.
The location is great. Walking distance to city centre, just 10mins.
Free off street parking, adequate free wifi.
Host is so nice and gave me a really good point to see the glacier. He told me to drive pass the way to go lake matheson a little, stop a car and look back to way we drive from. Then, we saw an excellent view of glacier with mt.cook. We took many many pictures here. My dad really really like view from this point. Thanks to suggest me there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Babypen9uin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed over for 1 night before heading to Queenstown. We wanted an accessible room for 4 but there wasn't any, so they gave us 2 units of 1 bedroom and charged us the price of a 2-bedroom, appreciate the flexibility and discount! Clean and comfortable rooms, with small kitchen that is well-equipped and we managed to fix ourselves a decent steak meal! Sheltered parking right in front of our unit and the view of the mountains from the premises was just fabulous. Manager was great to offer us discount coupons for Fox Glacier helicopter tour but unfortunately we had booked with another provider.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavend3rmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Positive Points : Fox Glacier is a very small town, the location was ok. Room was clear and well decorated, as well as the bathroom. Parking spot in front of your room. Lady at the reception was nice and helpful.

Negative Points : Breakfast (served the day before) was too expensive for what is was...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank loscas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lake Matheson Motel provided clean, comfortable accommodations with the basic amenities. The location is in a quiet area, but within walking distance to the several eating establishments. It is convenient for a visit to Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson and was a good stop on our drive from Queenstown to Westport. Our accommodations for a family of 6 adults included a two bedroom unit and a queen studio unit. Management was welcoming. We had a good night's sleep and would recommend to others needing a motel in Fox Glacier. On a side note, the wifi happened to be spotty the evening of our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbcjds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 11 in Fox Glacier
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
18 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
0.8 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 11 in Fox Glacier
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £79 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; while we are not on the edge of the Lake, we are only a ten drive away and the same for the Glacier. Our motto is 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions and utensils. We have a 4 star grade with Qualmark. So come and enjoy our studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have WIFI,undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King and Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Heather and Mike, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing