We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
199
176
54
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
176
54
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake matheson car port the managers king studio new zealand bedroom unit helpful owner place to stay quiet location the main street friendly hosts small kitchen overnight stay fox glacier guiding stayed one night comfortable room haast pass
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

The room was fairly basic but comfortable enough. The bathroom was quite basic with a large fairly open shower area and a curtain. The sliding glass door was very fiddly to lock.
Very convenient to Lake Matheson and the town.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCNE37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Nice, friendly & helpful owner share some great info with me. This comfy motel with amenities was conveniently located in Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson. Always a great place to visit and stopover when you travel along Haast Pass.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Diong 丽
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Heather, who greeted us, is a delight. She gave us great advice on how to spend our time and the best viewpoints. The room was fairly basic, without any special charm, but well located and comfortable with good amenities.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cookpias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We enjoyed our stay at this motel. The rooms were comfortable and the amenities exactly what was required. Lake Matheson is a good place to visit - but get their early before the wind gets up and ripples ruin the extraordinary reflecting aspect of the lake (see picture) - and I can recommend this motel as it is quite close to the lake, has a spectacular view of the glacier from further along the valley and is handy for both the Fox Glacier and Franz Josef.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DeeWhy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Stayed in a 2 bhk along with my family. View from the kitchen was a farm with a horse. Loved it. Loved the peace and quiet. Was so quiet that the only sounds in the night was the ducks quacking. At the same time not too far away from the town. About 5 minutes walk from the fox glacier guiding. The 2 bhk was spacious enough and the room had its own shaded parking spot. Because it was winter, not many rooms were occupied. We thought it was better then the other motels we saw along the way. I rate it the best because of the peace and quiet. The room was very clean and the lady in the reception polite and friendly. 5 stars.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rajupras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews