We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, comfortable and in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Matheson Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We spent 2 nights here while we were visitng Fox Glacier. The motel is comfortable, well-furnished, friendly and helpful. Kitchen seemed well equipped although we ate in the local pubs. Very handy for all the main attractions in Fox.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank nicolaashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2010

We booked the spa room, and after a day of walkiing it was a great idea. It is a basic motel room, but very spacious, handy to all the dining spots and very close to Fox Glacier and Lake Mathieson. And nice and quiet, as it is off the main road, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Reception was friendly, helpful and approachable (think she was the owner/manager? not sure on this). The hotel was a wonderful 5-7minute walk to the Village, and 10-15 minute drive to Lake Matheson. Also, it's not near any of the glacier tour helipads.
We stayed in the newly renovated unit (non-wheelchair accessible). Covered parking in front of unit was great, especially when unloading/loading luggage when it rains. Note that vehicles bigger than a 4 door sedan may not enjoy the luxury total cover (unless you park really close to the entrance). Very small flight of steps into the unit coupled with a large glass sliding door at the unit entrance makes loading/unloading luggage/gear very easy. Unit mostly carpeted, whilst the bathroom and mini-kitchen area were of timber flooring, making the unit pleasant to walk around bare-footed when cold.
Very powerful electric heater in the bedroom/living/dining area. Bathroom however does not have those electric heaters that blow nice warm air out, but powerful halogen lights inside bathroom do provide ample heat, albeit at a slower rate. Water pressure was fantastic.
Room was a little short of power points in the living area, had to run an extension cord from the mini-kitchen to the dining table. Unit also had ample space for 4 adults to sit (there's a sofa in the room as well) and discuss the next day's adventure/travel plans.
Wireless internet was cheap ($10 a day), fast and stable. Signal strength low, but same experience with my other accommodations in New Zealand’s South Island (except the wired ones).
If you’re seeking a quiet yet convenient, clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay in Fox Glacier Village, this is the accommodation you’ve been looking for.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBlueTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We really enjoyed our evening sitting outside looking at the snow capped mountains at sunset while the kids played on the adjacent rugby field. The service and cleanliness was tops. Nice quiet and very comfortable newly renovated two bedroom . Meant we could sleep in while the kids watched tv in the lounge. Excellent value for money in the Glacier Country region. Which is more than in the cities.
Can't wait to go back again. You will enjoy this place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colnago5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

A very quiet motel with peaceful surroundings. Cosy ambience and clean room! Takes slightly less than 5 minutes to get to the Village for your hikes.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

This motel is actually no where near Lake Matheson, but is located just a couple of blocks from where the action is in the small Fox Glacier township. The rooms are stock standard motel fare, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msdcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

I've never really stayed in motels before.. I think this one set the standards too high! The rooms were extremely clean, and the bathroom is spankin' new with really modern sleek finishings. The water pressure was amazing!! Internet was I think $10NZD I think, and it's for the entire night. Signal was a bit weak.. you just have to find the right spot in your room. You can walk to the main road where restaurants are but you can also drive.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWONGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
364 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,216 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £75 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; while we are not on the edge of the Lake, we are only a ten drive away and the same for the Glacier. Our motto is 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions and utensils. We have a 4 star grade with Qualmark. So come and enjoy our studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have WIFI,undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King and Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Heather and Mike, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing