We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Ranked #8 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel accommodation”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is right in town so is ideal to reach everything you need at The Fox Glacier. Our booking had stipulated a twin room (one single One queen bed) of which we arrived to two single beds. However the lovely man on reception sorted it out for us. Apparently a "head office" mistake. We did our booking online.The hotel is rather dated but the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    22
    21
    28
See reviews for
8
47
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

When we arrived for check in at 3.30 an hour and a half past check in - our room was not ready. I wish we had of left then. Unfortunately we had prepaid so had to stay but luckily it was only for one night . The room was musty, dated , roof was peeling. While I complained and asked to be shifted- they "couldn't do that" and didn't seem to care .Was gross - avoid!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fox Glacier hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Read all the worst reviews then lower your expectations. We forfeited our second prepaid night and that was better value than staying here. Rooms look like they have not updated since about 1970, noisy, musty, wi-fi "broken". Avoid at all costs

Room Tip: Best tip find a better place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Very basic, public area dirty. Glad we were only there for 2 nights, if we had got there earlier we would have cancelled second night. Disappointed as we had booked based on views on Trip Advisor, did we confuse Motel with Hotel?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My mum sister and I checked into a triple room with the hotel manager who was not a friendly man so that put us off before we saw the room. The room had double and single bed and was very small for 3 people. The decor was so out dated and was more like staying in a 60s motel, very over priced for the room, curtains were coming off the rails, can hear the neighbours speak clearly, bathroom sink in the main room, just felt grotty and dirty. Avoid this hotel if possible!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Considering this was the most expensive hotel we booked for our three week tour of NZ, we were terribly disappointed with the accommodation offered.
The room decorations were like something out of a time warp, with a pervasive musty smell and damp patches on the carpet.The bathroom was very outdated, with the sink located on a bench next to the bed. There was also almost no car parking available on site.
We went to the sister-hotel across the road to enquire if they had any other available accommodation and were spoken to very rudely by the General Manager who was shocked that we were complaining about the room as they have never had complaints from other guests. He also did not believe that the room was damp and musty.
We were eventually offered a room at the sister-hotel for the same price, which was only marginally better than our original room. There were far nicer hotels available at the Glacier, but we were unable to leave the Heartland Hotels as they were going to charge us the full night's rate, despite how poor the condition of the room was.
The restaurant was also very disappointing, with very slow service and food that was only slightly warm when it arrived (though by that point nothing surprised us).
It may be some of the cheaper accommodation available at Fox Glacier, but it is definitely worth spending more to find better accommodation. These rooms were certainly not worth the asking price.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConstantlyinAwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

On arrivel was unable to check in until 14:00 as site is only open 07:00 to 10:00 then 14:00 to 21:00 which once reception was open found out our booking had not been done by the hotel correctly and was left to wait about as they had no rooms. Then was told we have now been booked in to the hotel over the road which is the same chain of hotels, headed to them and then got send back to the first hotel as they have a room ready for us after all that the room was a shabby looking place nothing like the pictures show on line. Feel let down by service and quality of the hotel brand.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
#10 of 10 in Fox Glacier
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Glacier Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

Property: Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Address: 39 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Glacier Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is privileged to be located within a unique world heritage area. The internationally recognised Westland World Heritage Park encompasses 2.6 million hectares of spectacular wilderness, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is just five minutes drive from Fox Glacier. Located in Fox Glacier village, this recently refurbished three-star plus hotel is the ideal place to stay if you are here to see this remarkable attraction - we are just three kilometres from the glacier car park. A multi-million dollar upgrade was completed in October 2016 that included all 51 guest rooms and ensuites, restaurant, bar and reception area. The design scheme for this hotel drew inspiration from the local West Coast environs in creating an effective and cheerful hotel upgrade. The exterior décor and light internal refurbishment brings a fresh new look to the property and creates a consistent feel throughout. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country looks forward to welcoming you to this very special corner of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Glacier Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing