We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very basic, but good dinner.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Ranked #9 of 10 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very basic, but good dinner.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Stopped at this motel (and it should be considered as such, rather than as a hotel) as part of an extended tour around NZ & Australia, and was certainly the most basic accommodation we experienced. First impressions of the room were not favourable - as other reviewers have suggested, the decor and fixtures are everything you might expect if you were in a 'back-of-beyond' motel. But, and it is a big but; the room was clean, everything worked, internet access was available, and we slept very well - something we couldn't always say about 4* hotels in city centres.
As part of a pre-paid package, I cannot comment on value for money (as the charge was buried amongst more than a dozen other hotels) but it was certainly good enough for the one day & night we stayed in lovely Fox Glacier.
One aspect that did deserve particular praise though was the evening dinner. The venison pie was excellent.
With regards to the area; the motel is right across the street from the office providing wonderful, albeit short, helicopter tours over the glacier zone; and 5 minutes walk from a nice spot to see glow-worms after dark.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    20
    19
    26
See reviews for
7
41
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

Wonderful scenery ... friendly staff, that was the best part of our stay. Hotel needs refurbishing, but the surroundings make it tolerable. Spend a lot of time communing with nature and your room won't seem so bad.

  • Liked — The scenery & staff
  • Disliked — Place needs refurbishing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank California-Shane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fox Glacier hotels

Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2008

As I was on a tour it was probably the only hotel in the area able to accommodate a sizeable number of people.

Accommodation needs a serious refit. It is tired, outdated and downright shabby. Only good point the sheets were clean. You could also hear the people next door.

Probably the worst hotel I stayed in during my tour.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Shabby rooms
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank paraiso358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2007

We stayed one night. The room was very small and run down. The shower started out with brown water coming out and spit water out in pulses. Nice staff with an adequate public area but I think you can do better although the community is very small and there are not a lot of places to stay. Regardless of which motel you stay at, bring a flashlight and walk up the road at night about a hundred yards and take the 15 minute nature trail walk and see the glow worms. Great fun.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank fresnoflashFresno_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
back in europe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2007

This place is just not a good hotel. We were on a roundtrip with pre-booked hotels and this was by far the worst. Since we had a pre-paid voucher we were given the most horrible of all the pretty bad rooms in the building, even though we arrived early in the day. The rooms have bad beds and no decent bathroom, which is a problem with standard rates of NZ$ 230 per night. The interior is worn and shabby with light bulbs without cover and washing facilities in the bedroom. You can get the same standard in Fox for far less money. If you want a backpacker accomodation (because that's waht you get), why pay for a standard hotel room.

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S0X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2006

we stayed for one night and if we had booked another I would have changed hotels.

The staff was friendly. The hotel looks great from the outside but the rooms are in need of a refurb. You can hear your neighbours, specialy when they are having a shower or use the toilet.

I was a little disappointed as this was the most expensive hotel we stayed in on this trip and it was also our last night, so we had hoped for something a little nicer.

  • Liked — easy to find
  • Disliked — the rooms are old and need refurb
  • Tips/Secrets — go on a helicopter flight to the glaciers
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yolly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2006

We stayed in various hotels around the South Island and although this was by no means the cheapest, it was the only one we could find any fault with. The public areas were very nice and there was a friendly environment in the bar. We had previously stayed at the Scenic Circle hotel in Dunedin and were expecting a similar standard as the price was much the same. However the rooms at the Scenic Circlu hotel at Fox Glacier were very disappointing with very basic bathroom arrangements.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
#10 of 10 in Fox Glacier
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Glacier Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

Property: Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Address: 39 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Glacier Country 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is privileged to be located within a unique world heritage area. The internationally recognised Westland World Heritage Park encompasses 2.6 million hectares of spectacular wilderness, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is just five minutes drive from Fox Glacier. Located in Fox Glacier village, this recently refurbished three-star plus hotel is the ideal place to stay if you are here to see this remarkable attraction - we are just three kilometres from the glacier car park. A multi-million dollar upgrade was completed in October 2016 that included all 51 guest rooms and ensuites, restaurant, bar and reception area. The design scheme for this hotel drew inspiration from the local West Coast environs in creating an effective and cheerful hotel upgrade. The exterior décor and light internal refurbishment brings a fresh new look to the property and creates a consistent feel throughout. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country looks forward to welcoming you to this very special corner of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Heartland Hotel Glacier Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing