We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Ranked #8 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2007

This place is just not a good hotel. We were on a roundtrip with pre-booked hotels and this was by far the worst. Since we had a pre-paid voucher we were given the most horrible of all the pretty bad rooms in the building, even though we arrived early in the day. The rooms have bad beds and no decent bathroom, which is a problem with standard rates of NZ$ 230 per night. The interior is worn and shabby with light bulbs without cover and washing facilities in the bedroom. You can get the same standard in Fox for far less money. If you want a backpacker accomodation (because that's waht you get), why pay for a standard hotel room.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S0X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2006

we stayed for one night and if we had booked another I would have changed hotels.

The staff was friendly. The hotel looks great from the outside but the rooms are in need of a refurb. You can hear your neighbours, specialy when they are having a shower or use the toilet.

I was a little disappointed as this was the most expensive hotel we stayed in on this trip and it was also our last night, so we had hoped for something a little nicer.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yolly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2006

We stayed in various hotels around the South Island and although this was by no means the cheapest, it was the only one we could find any fault with. The public areas were very nice and there was a friendly environment in the bar. We had previously stayed at the Scenic Circle hotel in Dunedin and were expecting a similar standard as the price was much the same. However the rooms at the Scenic Circlu hotel at Fox Glacier were very disappointing with very basic bathroom arrangements.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank alieta95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mmp198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank hsiaoy231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Humberto Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
#10 of 10 in Fox Glacier
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Glacier Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

Address: 39 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £78 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Glacier Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is privileged to be located within a unique world heritage area. The internationally recognised Westland World Heritage Park encompasses 2.6 million hectares of spectacular wilderness, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is just five minutes drive from Fox Glacier. Located in Fox Glacier village, this recently refurbished three-star plus hotel is the ideal place to stay if you are here to see this remarkable attraction - we are just three kilometres from the glacier car park. A multi-million dollar upgrade was completed in October 2016 that included all 51 guest rooms and ensuites, restaurant, bar and reception area. The design scheme for this hotel drew inspiration from the local West Coast environs in creating an effective and cheerful hotel upgrade. The exterior décor and light internal refurbishment brings a fresh new look to the property and creates a consistent feel throughout. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country looks forward to welcoming you to this very special corner of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heartland Hotel Glacier Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing