We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here for one night in February 2012 (having stayed 3 times before) on route up the West Coast.
A good quality motel. Stayed in a studio unit - the price was not cheap (but not outrageous compared to others in Fox which have tried before), but you get what you pay for.
The unit was sizeable and well laid out. All units are positioned in order to offer splendid views of Mount Cook - but too much cloud on our visit this time. The owners are friendly, helpful and on-site.
The wet room style shower was excellent. The kitchenette was modest but perfectly adequate and containing all needed and in good order. The bed was sizeable and sufficiently comfy. A comfy settee and book table also. Plenty of storage space. Wifi available: signal good, but charge a little expensive if only staying one night (try and negotiate as part of the booking price, perhaps?).
A good stay, will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    119
    48
    19
    9
See reviews for
71
194
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the motel for two nights. It was perfectly located. The view from the rear of the units (which included a little balcony with table and chairs) was truly magnificent. The motel room was quite spacious with minimal cooking facilities and a double couch. We loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mossvale
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good drive from queenstown roads are good lots of beautiful landscape just a bit out of town very quite check inn-check out fast&friendly asked about the tours were booked and on a flight in 40 min up to the glacier stayed in room 25 spa room it was a bit on the small side good kitchenette plenty of towels spa bath was on the small side not good for a big boned person water pressure was not good when turned on the hot water cold water was fine though very clean wifi $10 for unlimited use has a 2 seater lounge nice views from outside your room of mt cook when he wants to show himself though not very private was a sign on wall that a fee of $20 would be charged if the dishes were not washed up but there was a few of them in some of the motels we stayed in

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed one night at Sunset Motel whilst in the Fox Glacier area.

The room was of a decent size,, well equipped and once the heater kicked in nice and warm. Despite it being summer the weather was cold, wet and windy but inside the room was cozy enough. The bathroom was of a decent size too and there was plenty of hot water.

It's a little way from the hotel into town, but only a five minute drive from some good eateries.

The best thing about the room was the view. It was great to be able to see up into the snow covered mountains directly from the room.

My only gripe about the place is the very stern warning about not leaving dirty dishes otherwise you will be charged $20. This is the first time we have ever encountered this anywhere in the world and it doesn't set a great tone. We pay for a service in a hotel/motel and don't expect to be charged for leaving a couple of dirty cups!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had a one night stay. We thought the room was a very good size, clean, modern and had a great view. Just a couple of what we hope will be helpful comments. We found the shower had a very, very low water pressure (that may be because we are so used to having fantastic showers). For this one thing we would not come back as we really appreciate our hot showers. Also the tone of the hotel manual could be improved to make guests feel more welcome. We understand there needs to be rules but it could be balanced with "fluffy" stuff. Also the sign telling you you have to do the dishes or there will be a charge makes you feel like you are not on holiday. We go to motels/hotels so we don't have to do the dishes/beds, etc - that is the stuff we have to do everyday at home and the first time we have come across it in all the places we have stayed. These are not major issues but real success is in the detail. Hopefully these comments are taken positively as a tool for improving customer service for the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were 4 adults and stayed in one of the 2 bedroom suites that were available. The accommodation is reasonable but basic and suitable for someone venturing forth into Glacier land. One significant inconvenience was the single bathroom/toilet to be shared between the 2 bedrooms. What made this even more uncomfortable was the fact that the facilites had no window or exhaust fan and were right next to the tiny kitchenette

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We spent a very enjoyable two nights at Sunset Motel in December. From the outset, Linsey and Bruce went out of their way to make things pleasant for us, from accommodating our very late arrival to giving us some great suggestions of places to visit on our onward journey north. Our lovely room was clean, comfortable, peaceful and well equipt, with fantastic views of the mountains and direct access into a little garden. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing