We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad management”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Bad management”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The rooms were nice and clean but management was very unhelpful.

We requested 2 rooms and four people (2 adults and 2 kids) in each room but they only allowed 3 people in each room. They asked the extra two people to go and stay somewhere else. That is not what you want when you travel as a family.

One week after I checked out, they charged my credit card for a burnt frypan which is not true at all.

I recomment NOT staying in this motel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farsad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review. As mentioned you turned up with 2 families when only 2 double rooms were booked. These were our last two rooms available, this is why they were only listed on Booking.com as doubles with a maximum of two people per room.

When you filled in your registration form upon check in you also stated that you only had 4 people in your group, even though we had said that the registration form would be for the whole group.

You also fail to mention how I spent quite a considerable amount of time with you trying to find alternative accommodation in Fox Glacier for the other family that you travelled with.

In regards to the frying pan, it was found in a room that did not have a hob that you were staying in, only an electric frying pan, it had been scrubbed so much that the non-stick coating had been removed as it had obviously been burnt in one area of the pan's surface. These brand new frying pans had only been put into the room a few days before you arrived and are checked daily by the cleaning staff. I had spoken to you on the phone a few days before this review as to why you had been charged for the frying pan, which you did not deny. Also you have emailed us about this to the same response from us.

As the booking had been made for only 4 people and then 8 people arrived we could have actually refused your check-in to the motel as you had given us false details on your booking.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

thanks

Linsey Evans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    119
    48
    19
    9
See reviews for
71
194
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

What a gorgeous view on the mountains from the veranda of the room. Friendly front desk staff. Restaurants can be reached in 10..15 minutes walking, which is not a punishment in such a gorgeous environment. There is a small kitchen in the room. Parking spaces in front of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Appletreelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Sunset Motel was the best stay we have had so far in NZ!
The rooms are well appointed, have stunning views, walking distance to dinner/cafes and the hospitality of the management is second to none. The perfect stay if you come to the glaciers... I know we will be back! Thanks Sunset Motel!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandjunwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

NO hesitation to recommend the place . Rooms are clean . Small kitchenette is well equipped and YES the view on the mountains is unique . Early in the morning we sat in the back to sip our coffee while admiring the mountains. Stayed for two days , but four days would have been better

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here one night and must say the room was fantastic and the views from the veranda were stunning. The only thing we would say is the shower's are not very powerful, but this may be due to pressure. We ordered the breakfast for the next morning as we were off early and we would say it was adequate. It is a short walk from the centre of Fox Glacier, where you have a few cafe's and restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views of Mount Cook and Mount Tasman
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights, the rooms were big, clean and well equipped. For the price I couldn't believe the amazing views of the mountains. We had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and the property is located close to the main strip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Only few motels at fox glacier, so there is nothing much to expect, seriously. Dung smell right after stepped into the room. The smell remains for 2 consecutive nights. Location is good with only 1-2 mins' drive to the town where you can have meals and book activities. The town is very quiet especially at night. Backyard of the room is nice but felt not very safe to walk around. Reminds me of horror movies. Maybe watch too many on the tv. LOL. Easy parking - just right in front of your room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cavyn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mount Cook View Motel
Mount Cook View Motel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing