We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done! Great views and location!”
Review of Misty Peaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misty Peaks
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well done! Great views and location!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

The rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. I like the heaters in the bathrooms and the desire of every kiwi host to be sure you have milk for your coffee! Nice touch. The breakfast was a choice of really nice fruits and cereal and/or a hot, made to order breakfast.
Do take Dave up on one of his home cooked meals... The food was simple, perfectly cooked and seemingly effortless. Dave moves about the kitchen cooking and pouring the wine all while keeping us entertained with his conversation. The meats he prepared were choice, lean and all locally produced. The desert - some kind of fig situation I believe- was delicious!
The property is next to a helipad - don't worry, the noise won't bother you - very conveinient for a ride to the Fox Glacier which Dave will set up for you. Fly early then come back across the lawn for breakfast. A great experience, location and small inn.
The outside entry to each room is nice too. If you want to step outside you can do so without having to go thru the common areas.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CabanaJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    53
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
210
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Misty Peaks...

the Bedroom was clean, tidy, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable!

Great selection for breakfast too, lovely stay and will go back when in the area next!!!

My niece had the honeymoon suite and that was just brilliant...well worth the extra money

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandieSwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Dave & Rea are great hosts and this is a luxury B&B (as the price dictates). Well situated, close to Fox Township and a perfect break point if moving down the West Coast. Lovely clean and comfortable rooms with full privacy and they will serve a good meal at night that is a nice experience if there are other word travelers there around a communal table. Great conversation and Dave will keep the wine flowing.

Breakfast is again a communal meeting point, with wonderful authentic NZ preserves and any food that you want.

Do take the trouble to drive to the beach but watch for the sandflies, they are huge!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kotuku123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We Stayed here for 2 nights to do the Fax Glacier full day walk and it was lovely. As our first ever B&B experience we were a little nervous. But there was no need to be :) The place reminded me of my parents country property. It was walking distance to town where you could get dinner or you could stay for dinner at Misty Peaks. Breakfast was great, and it was close to Lake Mathison for a walk or run or pictures of the mountains reflecting off the lake and gift shops for souvenirs.

We even got a wake up call when our alarm didn't go off because we forgot to change timezones! Without it we would have missed our glacier walk! Thanks for a great first B&B experience :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were showing our US friends through the Sth Island & thought interaction with other travellers & a real NZ couple would be fun .... And it was - we were welcomed warmly & looked after superbly. They put on a complimentary glass of wine followed up by a wonderful dinner & accommodated our timing for breakfast
They say they can't please all the people all the time however they certainly tried

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigFella15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We spent two nights at Misty Peaks with Dave and Lea. We had a wonderful time there. The rooms were well kept clean and comfortable. Beds were supportive and warm with electric blankets. The showers were fantastic and the bathrooms spotless. Would recommend their showers over the Hot spas to get over end of the day aches n pains! Breakfast was cooked fresh and to each individual taste. We had dinner with them as well and can give Dave a 5 star rating for cooking!!!! They advised us on how to spend a wet day and also booked our scenic flight. It was great to walk out to the helipad and fly out to the top of the glacier. The views from the house are fantastic and Lake Matheson is a 7 minute drive....very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karniks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Dave gave us a great welcome home for the two nights we stayed..
Rooms were clean, equipped with TV, refrigerator and accessories.
Key features were the unlimited internet access, heated rack for towels and climate controlled floor. Chef Dave started our day with a great breakfast every morning. Happy Hour starts at 6:30 everyday and option for a home cooked meal shortly after. Strongly encourage to take advantage of their home cooked meals. Bed and breakfast is close to local glacier, guide tours, cafes and bars.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zapatajuanj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
0.7 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mount Cook View Motel
Mount Cook View Motel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Peaks

Property: Misty Peaks
Address: 105 Cook Flat Road | Fox Township, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Peaks 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Peaks is a small Bed and Breakfast/Hotel with only 5 guestrooms.We have beautiful views of Mt Cook and Tasman that cant be seen from the village. A complimentary glass of wine and a New Zealand cheese board is offered at 6.30 PM. Continental and cooked breakfast served in the Dining Room. We look forward to having you stay in our home, Lea Bentley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Peaks Fox Glacier
Misty Peaks Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing