We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”
Review of Misty Peaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Peaks
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Burton-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
706 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

There aren't enough stars to rate this place highly enough (need at least 7 rather than the 5 which you can have on Trip Advisor). The house is beautiful; the room was stunning; the welcome from Dave and Lea was truly fabulous; the pre-dinner drink was very welcome (along with the nibbles provied by Lea); the dinner (cooked by Dave, served by Lea) was brilliant; breakfast was wonderful. I could go on, but I think you may get the impression that we loved the place - and you would be right! Keep up the good work Dave and Lea.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    53
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
210
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My decision to stay here was based on the many positive reviews on this site. Luckily for us, my gf and I managed to secure a room last minute whilst travelling to Fox township. Due to an unscheduled detour with a helicopter ride over the glacier we arrived late the B&B. But Dave was gracious and welcomed us. The room was really cosy with a comfortable bed and neat little bathroom. At nights we had tea outside under a nice clear sky.
Next morning we had a delicious breakfast - thank you Lea.
She was also kind enough to provide a map and pin point spots for amazing views of the glacier for good photo opportunities.

Room Tip: Just a warning/suggestion - dont leave the windows or door slightly open. Its amazing how many moths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We were greeted by the friendly Lea and enjoyed a glass of wine and cheese nibbles. Lea suggested where we should visit and eat. Our room was clean, comfortable and well furnished. The house is a good walk, but a short drive from shops, restaurants etc. After walking to the glacier face we had dinner in the 'town' and the following morning, after an excellent breakfast, we visited Lake Matheson and saw some good reflections. Unfortunately, misty and cloudy peaks prevented a perfect view of the glacier and surrounding mountains, but that's always a potential problem in the mountains. Happy to recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: You pay a bit more for a mountain view but as it was misty this was wasted on us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We arrived here in the pouring rain and things just continued to improve. Lea and Dave are great hosts-it felt as though we were staying at a friends house for the weekend. Rooms are well appointed, the bed is very comfortable and Dave's cooking is fantastic-do try an evening meal. Local knowledge is excellent and Lea could not be more helpful. The place to stay whilst visiting the West Coast Glaciers!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWideboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. The owners had good local knowledge and made our stay interesting and enjoyable. Rooms are very nice with TV and internet available. Easy access to Helicopter flights which the hosts can organise.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at Misty Peaks for 2 nights while visiting Fox and Franz Josef glaciers. Misty Peaks was the perfect place for us, it was not too far from town, yet on a quiet street. Each room had its own french doors, facing a beautiful open space. Dave served a wonderful cooked to order breakfast each morning, it was simple and delicious. We also had dinner at Misty Peaks one evening, and it was an amazing experience. The company was fantastic and we had a blast getting to know everyone around the table. After dinner, we actually went out on a night hike to see glow warms with a couple that we met at dinner. While we were only there briefly, I really enjoyed every moment of it and am really happy that we decided to splurge and stay at Misty Peaks.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkTravelBalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yecla, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This most comfortable B&B is ideally situated to take advantage of what's on offer in Fox. It is in a quiet spot away from the main road just-two minutes drive from where all the action is!
We were welcomed by Dave who offered us tea or coffee on arrival. Very nice room with ensuite and a very comfortable bed!
Pre dinner drinks were very welcome as it gave us the opportunity to meet the other guests and Dave's wife Lea. The meal was superb accompanied with a very nice Sauvignon Blanc. Dave does a great job with the cooking but Lea's home made mayonnaise was/is awesome!
If we go back to Fox in he future we will definitely go back there.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same apart from the honeymoon suite but those on the right side looking down the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
0.7 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mount Cook View Motel
Mount Cook View Motel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Peaks

Property: Misty Peaks
Address: 105 Cook Flat Road | Fox Township, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Peaks 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Peaks is a small Bed and Breakfast/Hotel with only 5 guestrooms.We have beautiful views of Mt Cook and Tasman that cant be seen from the village. A complimentary glass of wine and a New Zealand cheese board is offered at 6.30 PM. Continental and cooked breakfast served in the Dining Room. We look forward to having you stay in our home, Lea Bentley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Peaks Fox Glacier
Misty Peaks Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing