We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”
Review of Misty Peaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misty Peaks
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop on our trip around the South Island and I am so glad we stayed here! Lea & Dave were fabulous hosts. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean. Lea could offer lots of information about the area and things to do and see while on our trip. Thank you for a great night, we will be recommending you to everyone we know!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofuhrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Misty Peaks
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

I planned to stay only one night at Misty Peaks, but due to road closure at Haast preventing north/south access (and wanning days of a travel bug from Peru), I ended staying 3 days. Lucky me. Dave and Lea are superb hosts and run a very cozy, well kept, comfortable B&B that is only a moment from Fox Glacier.

Arrival is warm and friendly, and my room was ready despite showing up a few hours ahead of check in. The room had a view of the mountains, a very comfortable bed (with electric warmer under the sheets - so toasty!), nice bathroom (with heated floor). I had a minor problem with the room heater and Lea attended to it immediately. Fridge made some noise, so I unplugged it. Wifi is free and bandwidth is ample.

Breakfasts are cooked to order by Lea and are wonderful. Each evening at 6:30 pm they host wine & cheese get together for quests. Very sociable way to meet fellow travelers, trade stories and in general relax - just like home. The hosts travel a lot during off season, so they are also consumers, and I think that appreciation of what it is like to be thousands of miles from home comes through in the service they provide.

With only 5 rooms, they can focus on all details so all one need do is plan events for each day, and in that regard, listen to their tips and suggestions: they know the restaurants, tours and sights to see and their advice is dead on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seddonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Misty Peaks for a night. What a mistake, should have stayed for longer. Lee and Dave were perfect hosts and we absolutely enjoyed the drinks in front of the fireplace where we shared some good laughs and yarns. What a perfect way to unwind after a long road trip. I was feeling under the weather and Lee was kind enough to provide some home made remedies which truly did wonders for me. The room was very cosy, clean and comfortable.
Thank you to Lee and Dave for helping us plan our limited time in Fox, we appreciate your local knowledge and assistance. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PriyaN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

stayed there for 2 nights with my wife and baby.
the room was well design , clean and with a nice balcony with amazing view over the mountains.
our host Dave made a delicious food and been a grate host.
WiFi was free.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaron1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The room are really nice: big, clean and confortable. Breakfast was really good. Location is good even if I think that every location in Fox is quite the same as there is no special view to get somewhere and all hotels are along the same road.
Unfortunately, we cannot judge more about this place as we arrived quite late and left quite early the tomorrow day then we didn't have diner there or time to appreciate hospitality of the owners which makes the difference for a homestay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here recently with another couple. We found it on trip advisor and as usual we were not disappointed. The food is particularly good and Dave and Lee are delightful hosts.
We recommend this place very highly

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank nzcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We had a warm welcome and enjoyed Dave and Lea's welcome. Modern and purpose built to offer guests a good stay we enjoyed our large room and excellent bathroom, plus a very comfortable bed with quality linen. We chose to stay for dinner and really enjoyed it, good food and wine, taken at one table with the other guests. Breakfast was good, we took ours at 8.45 which suited us, as some of the other guests particularly wanted to have theirs at 7.30.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank astonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Peaks

Address: 105 Cook Flat Road | Fox Township, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £93 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Peaks 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Peaks is a small Bed and Breakfast/Hotel with only 5 guestrooms.We have beautiful views of Mt Cook and Tasman that cant be seen from the village. A complimentary glass of wine and a New Zealand cheese board is offered at 6.30 PM. Continental and cooked breakfast served in the Dining Room. We look forward to having you stay in our home, Lea Bentley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Peaks Fox Glacier
Misty Peaks Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing