We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Welcoming hosts”
Review of Misty Peaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misty Peaks
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We very much enjoyed our 2 nights with Lea. She was a great host bringing guests together in the early evening if you wanted but equally was very sensitive to those who preferred their own space and company. The rooms are very comfortable and have terrific views of the local mountains. The helipad is close to the residence but this is not intrusive and enables those who want to, to take a terrific ride up to the top of the glacier. The town is walkable and there are some good restaurants relatively close- our favorite was at the lake Murchison. Lea provided every support in making bookings and is clearly very wired in to the local scene. Breakfast was very good and provided another opportunity to swap stories with other guests and get advice on what to do next. Thoroughly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed with Lea and Dave while we were driving down the west coast of the New Zealand. Their hospitality was wonderful and the room we stayed in (honeymoon suite) was lovely and very spacious - larger than most other B&Bs we stayed at. Bathroom fittings were lovely, with spa, heat lamps and all other fixtures you would expect. Best of all were the local restaurant recommendations which were worthy of Wellington or Queenstown - let alone the middle of the west coast! Also, Dave is a massive Crusaders fan - and unfortunately the Brumbies lost the match while we were staying there, but thankfully the Tahs won later in the night so Aussie honour was maintained.

Room Tip: We didn't see rooms other than the honeymoon - but can confirm that room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al and Fin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had never stayed at a B&B so were not sure what to expect. Dave and Lea at Misty Peaks, can't speak highly enough of them and their hospitality.

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed every minute we were there. Dave is a great breakfast cook and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were warm and cosy and very clean and comfortable. Loved the under floor heating!

I think we have now been ruined for future stays at other B&B's. We felt extremely well looked after and totally spoilt.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Misty Peaks to other travellers.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Narelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay here while touring. What a fabulous place. Made to feel welcome and enjoyed meeting our fellow guests with wine and cheese at 6.30pm. Very clean and very tasteful and the views were sublime. Breakfast had everything you could think of - would stay there without hesitation - highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed two nights in this excellent B&B which started with a hartley welcome from Lea, who has a warm and friendly character. Breakfast was really exquisite, the daily informal gathering with snacks and wine were a delight. We were very sorry to hear that Dave couldn't be present at the time. The location is great: out of the busy center, but only 2 minutes drive from it and a superb view on Mt Cook and Mt Tasman! Very comfortable rooms. The place to be when in Fox Glacier.
Many thanks, Lea.

Patrick and Chris Vanhelmont-Meyers from Belgium

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick_Vanhelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Many thanks, Lea, for making us so welcome, sorry Dave wasn't there to join us........
Rina was a great substitute, thanks Rina, enjoyed both your companies. The rooms were very comfortable and roomy, views were magnificent. Breakfasts were lovely and we had good selection. Would recommend to everyone.
Great lady, great place and once again thanks,Lea.

Room Tip: All rooms had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were given a warm welcome from Lea (Dave was away which I assume is why there was no dining option) with tea/coffee and lots of information on how to make best use of our time in Fox. Our room was a twin (we had expected a double) and looked tired, in need of a bit of an update but there was complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits and a lovely view of the mountains – including Mount Cook when the clouds finally lifted. (The room had obviously been furnished as a double originally as witnessed by the fixed headboard which meant I was leaning against the wall when sitting up in bed). Complimentary wine and cheese at 6.30pm is a tradition here, where you meet other guests. Lea made some good recommendations for dinner. As other reviewers have noted, the fridge is incredibly noisy and I’m afraid we switched it off overnight. Breakfast is cooked to order, and was good.
And free unlimited wifi – way to go!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Figgysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
10.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
12.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 11 in Fox Glacier
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,250 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 11 in Fox Glacier
173 reviews
10.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Peaks

Address: 105 Cook Flat Road | Fox Township, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £95 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Peaks 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Peaks is a small Bed and Breakfast/Hotel with only 5 guestrooms.We have beautiful views of Mt Cook and Tasman that cant be seen from the village. A complimentary glass of wine and a New Zealand cheese board is offered at 6.30 PM. Continental and cooked breakfast served in the Dining Room. We look forward to having you stay in our home, Lea Bentley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Misty Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Peaks Fox Glacier
Misty Peaks Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing