We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place with a good restaurant”
Review of High Peaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed two nights. The hotel ( not a motel even though at first glance it looks like a motel ) is just on the edge of town. The room was spacious and bathroom was fine, but nothing special. The restaurant is good and for us much better than the rather busy and not very smart places in town. Breakfast was OK but the beans in the fry up had been under a heater for some time. The car park is rather bare and does not help your first impressions. Overall we enjoyed our stay and guess it is one of the best places in town

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

If you're looking for basic, functional accommodation in Fox Glacier then the High Peaks hotel should be what you need. It's not the most obviously attractive of hotels (it still looks more like the motel that it used to be) but the rooms are large and clean, with a nice bathroom, and there is a small launderette on the premises. The location is good too: less than a kilometre from the centre of Fox Glacier and a short drive from beautiful Lake Mathieson.

Our only gripe was that we we were a little disappointed with the quality of our meal in the restaurant (we had arrived fairly late on a very wet evening and had decided to dine in). The restaurant staff were, however, charming, as was the very hepful lady at reception.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twopeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

It was late in the afternoon when we were looking for a single nights accommodation, and being a bit away from the main road but on the way to Lake Matheson, we chose to check the availability here. A wonderfully warm welcome, and a clean and cosy room with all you need for a night, though a fridge would have been handy.

Our host rang us towards sunset to let us know the clouds had lifted and Mount Cook was glowing with the setting sun. How thoughtful..!!! We enjoyed the moment with her on the front lawn . . . . . another special moment from our stay in NZ :)

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank PaintedSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

What a beautiful setting the hotel was in, and easy to get to, plenty of room for parking . Our hosts were very friendly,good size room with all the facilities. We had breakfast and dinner which were marvellous our hostess was a really great chef. If you're sightseeing at Fox Glacier this is the ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is a MUST-STAY in Fox Glacier. The room is clean and cozy, and the owners are very very helpful and nice. I stayed here for 2 nights, and enjoyed it very much. I may say this is my best stay in NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This hotel was in excellent condition and the owners were very hospitable and made us feel most welcome. The view from the restaurant was amazing and the dinner food was very good as were the breakfasts. Definitely worth considering if you are going to stay at Fox Glacier.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed here one night on the way to Punakaiki and Westport. Room comfortable, shower really good. Didnt try the food so cant comment on that..
Lake matheson a short drive away..the cafe near the lake was really good

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
364 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,399 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £83 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing