We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Modern, Welcoming”
Review of High Peaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New, Modern, Welcoming”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A motel, with parking right outside the door of your individual 'motel room', it is quite new, modern and clean as a whistle. The hosts, Marlene and Alan, are friendly and helpful. The integral bar-restaurant is modest but provides a good breakfast and a surprisingly good dinner. We had a group function there, with drinks before and dinner afterwards, and they did an excellent job. Little 'atmosphere' or 'character', but a perfectly adequate overnight stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are 'inside', along a hallway, others are motel-style with cars right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parksims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    62
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
128
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Large rooms with very comfortable beds. A fridge in the studio would be nice but the owners make fridge space available when needed. Marverlous shower. All facilities superbly clean. Pretty good restuarant, with a french chef running the kitchen. Good bar/lounge. Extremely friendly owners are very helpful with advice for local visits. Marvelous views on the mountain range behind the hotel. Close by picture-perfect Lake Matheson (go early !).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Studio room with a king size bed. All quite new and clean but not felt that it was too expensive for what you get.
No fridge - just a cooler. Rear projection small TV that is too high on the wall. Basic bathroom. Very plain inside the room with basic furniture and nothing much on the walls - very boring. Access was through reception so everything had to go throuigh that way from the car - luckily we were one of only a few staying that night. It has a restaurant and bar but it wasn't open to just have a casual drink. The owner said she would cook us dinner from the menu but it wasn't worth opening the restaurant. Its about 1.5 kms from town as well - no big deal but just a bit further than ideal if you wanted to walk to town for a meal 9especially with the restaurant closed).

Nothing really wrong with the place but at $175.00 a night I was expecting better quality everthing.

Kevin and Wendy Bryant
Wellington NZ.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that you can park your car outside of - makes it easier getting stuff into your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanchant, Owner at High Peaks Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Because tourism in the the Glacier region is very seasonal, rates need to be at the higher end of the scale to make our businesses viable. The rates at High Peaks are very competitve compared to similar accommodation in the area.
I must disagree with your comment that the furniture is basic. I built the place and only top quality fittings etc were used.
I did observe the amount of alcohol and food that you had with you so I can with some certainty presume that you have not done your homework and found that High Peaks was not the type of accommodation you required. Hence your disappointment.
Our restaurant is available every evening for our own guests. The only request we make is that you give us a little notice so we can be prepared.The bar was open from 5.30 till at least 11 pm for anyone to enjoy a drink. ( I am the barman )
We are sorry you were disappointed but there are horses for courses and the great majority of our guests are very happy.
Alan Chant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I found the High Peaks Hotel a very enjoyable place to stay. It is a short drive to town or to Lake Matheson. The location makes it a very quiet place to stay. The rooms are very clean, well maintained, and are larger than you normally find. The views of the mountains from the motel are neat. The owners were very friendly and helpful in answering any questions I had. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

High Peaks is what Americans call a motel... you drive in (in this case to a gravel parking lot) and park right outside your room. So, as long as you're expecting a motel, your expectations will be met: the owners are on-site, they are very nice, they maintain the motel beautifully, and they provide (for an additional charge) a simple-- and perfectly fine-- breakfast.

We were on bicycles so its location about 1.3 kms outside of town was a bit of a disappointment but that's okay, we walked into town and had a terrific dinner at a cafe, I think it's called Cafe Neve, where the pizza is excellent and the service is terrific.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed two nights. The hotel ( not a motel even though at first glance it looks like a motel ) is just on the edge of town. The room was spacious and bathroom was fine, but nothing special. The restaurant is good and for us much better than the rather busy and not very smart places in town. Breakfast was OK but the beans in the fry up had been under a heater for some time. The car park is rather bare and does not help your first impressions. Overall we enjoyed our stay and guess it is one of the best places in town

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

If you're looking for basic, functional accommodation in Fox Glacier then the High Peaks hotel should be what you need. It's not the most obviously attractive of hotels (it still looks more like the motel that it used to be) but the rooms are large and clean, with a nice bathroom, and there is a small launderette on the premises. The location is good too: less than a kilometre from the centre of Fox Glacier and a short drive from beautiful Lake Mathieson.

Our only gripe was that we we were a little disappointed with the quality of our meal in the restaurant (we had arrived fairly late on a very wet evening and had decided to dine in). The restaurant staff were, however, charming, as was the very hepful lady at reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twopeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Property: High Peaks Hotel
Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing