We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good service, nice restaurant”
Review of High Peaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We (my wife and I) spent two nigths at High Peaks Hotel late February. We had booked our room via Internet and appreciated the quality of e-mail exchanges with Marlene over details of our forcoming stay. We selected the Hotel for its supposed location and we were not disappointed with a nice view on the "high peaks" on the first morning with clear skies. We also wanted to have dinner at the same location and were nicely surprised by the quality of the food on offer, thanks to chef Marlene and her staff, special mention to Abye, a very friendly yet professional waitress. The room was clean and tidy, the bathroom spacious. Overall a very good stay. Thank you Alan, Marlene & staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were expecting more, from the web site.
Despite what the owners say, this is not a Hotel (in our more than 50 years experience, all over the world). It is a very clean, smart, but rather dreary, upmarket Motel ... in our opinion.
It has no lounge.The Bar/ dinning room are excellent, & have the only really stunning views, but in a "U" shaped layout, surrounding a large gravel car park, hardly a "Hotel" situation.
The rooms are large, clean , neat, comfy, small bathroom, ancient TV, & useless , dare I say it "fridge".
A little more decoration, pictures, etc would make the rooms feel less "cold/stark.
The food in the resaurant, & the service from the waitress were excellent.
Alan & Marlene both work very hard at their "Hotel", Marlene being both receptionist & chef, & Alan doing laundry duty.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had driven from Arthur's Pass with a stop on Hokitika (great museum) aiming to get to Fox Glacier in time for our helicopter trip (Mountain Helicopters - see review) and then to spend the night before moving on to Te Anau for Doubtful Sound etc.
So all we needed was a place to rest our heads for the night. And High Peaks Hotel fitted the bill, good sized rooms, quite comfortable, good washing machine/tumble dryer deal. No food (as ever in these New Zealand motels) but we drove down the road to Lake Matheson and found a great restaurant there (Matheson Cafe - see review) where we got an excellent dinner, so good we decided to go back next morning, walk round the lake and then have breakfast! Which we ate outside with stunning view of the mountains!
So High Peaks Hotel worked out OK - though it nearly didn't. I had booked through Hotels.com (I think, or was it Bookings.com) in any event the credit card I had given had been subject to fraud before we left UK and been cancelled and replaced. When the hotel came to verify it, a week or so before we arrived, it didn't work so they cancelled our booking. No attempt to contact us. Hotels.com sent us an e-mail and I rebooked. Irritating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight here during our drive down the west coast, and we were quite pleased. The room, unit 14, was spotless. It was near the end of the hall away from the road, but this part of Fox is the quietest, about a mile from Highway 6, with little traffic on Cook Flats road, so no problem with noise. The wifi Internet, always a must for me and my iPad, was speedy and reliable, contrary to prior reviews. They give 300 mb free, but I didn't run out. The onsite restaurant was of high quality, though not inexpensive (New Zealand food is pricey). My venison stew was tasty, and the chef who prepared it was the same woman who checked us in. High Peaks is a charming little establishment in the right part of this area. I also appreciate having an interior corridor for lugging luggage down a hall during a rainy day. We stayed dry.

Room Tip: Stay here to dine, but be willing to pay for some very good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockiesExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The room, restaurant and facilities were spotlessly clean. Alan and Marlene were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble - giving advice on local sightseeing spots and helping to plan our activities during our 2 night stay. Dinner and breakfast in the restaraunt was cooked to order and delicious. Laundry facilities were excellent and very well priced. A real family run hotel where you are a guest not a room number! A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room(16) overlooking fields with Hereford cattle. There was also a spa bath which s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Have nothing bad to say about this place; rooms were clean, owners friendly and everything worked well. I will say however that i think for what you get its a little pricey. Location was a little out of town and whilst the view was quiet pleasant it was not worth the 175 per night price tag.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The owners are locals, real Kiwis and so really friendly and helpful. Our waitress (sorry forgot her name) was brilliant and talked to us about all sorts of local issues, information, etc. The accommodation was great with all the necessary facilities and the evening meals cooked by Marlene (one of the owners) were really very good and excellent value.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

Room Tip: our room had mountain views - not sure whether all do or do not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peb747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 11 in Fox Glacier
372 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
#11 of 11 in Fox Glacier
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £89 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing