We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well run operation”

Fox Glacier Guiding
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It's our privilege to guide you on the West Coast's largest and less crowded glacier. It is one of New Zealand's truly natural wonders. Whether you are walking, heli-hiking or ice-climbing with us in this incredible environment, we can promise you a memory you'll cherish. We have a long guiding history on the glacier (guided walks first started in 1928). Those years of accumulated knowledge and experience mean weare able to guide you with complete confidence. You can rest assured we take your safety and comfort very seriously. Come and enjoy our friendly West Coast hospitality, experience the mighty Fox Glacier with us and create a lifetime memory. We have glacier trips suitable for most fitness levels and ages including children from 9 yrs. Our informative Glacier Terminal Face walk is suitable for children from 5 yrs or for those who would find the walks onto the glacier too strenuous.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well run operation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

We did the Flying Fox Helihike in early December. It was a unique experience and I'm glad to have done it. I got to sit in the front of the helicopter on the return and that was amazing! Our guide was Zorah, an Australian with a snarky sense of humor. She made sure we got to see cool things as the weather was a wee bit threatening and may have shortened our stay. Luckily, it held off and we got the full tour. She obviously loves the Glacier and what she does. Amazing caves and ice structures.

There's really no strenuous activity involved. Short walks and stopping to take photos or learn about the glacier. It was expensive and I'm glad we did it. But it's really a once in a lifetime experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank deSchenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    157
    47
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We only had time for the Fox Terminal walk but are so glad we did it. After a spending half of the day driving in the pouring rain to reach Fox Glacier, we were lucky enough to have the weather clear just before we were due to go on our walk. Our tour guide Zara was extremely knowledgeable and clearly enjoyed her job and her running commentary made our tour a really enjoyable one - it was over too quickly. If you have the time definately do one of the tours, our only regret was not doing the half day one

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank roaming_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience with an enthusiastic and informative guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

My husband and I took a tour with guide 'Dean' to the face of Fox glacier. We were lucky to be the only two on the tour, perhaps due to the rain.. Our guide was great giving us information about the glacier, other geological points of interest, local wildlife etc definitely worth doing as he was able to take us past the limits of the public access right up to the ice. A wonderful experience!

Helpful?
1 Thank janettags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Informative and spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We did a half day afternoon trip (Fox trot) with Fox Glacier Guides. I was most impressed with the beauty of the glacier and surrounding scenary and our knowlegable guide Passang. He really made the glacier come to life for us with his information and obvious passion for the area. Also I noticed that when we passed other groups of walkers returning from their trip all the guides acknowledged us and asked how our trip was going. The lasting impression was that this company's staff are professional and passionate about what they do! The gear provided for the trip was good quality and comfortable, certainly a lot better than getting my own boots wet!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wanakai-SITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fox Glacier Guiding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Hiking on the Fox Glacier was one of the highlights of our recent three-week trip to New Zealand. We took a half-day tour. We had a small group of four and an excellent guide who knew everything about the flora and fauna and managed to keep us in very high spirits even though it was raining when we started. Almost on cue, there was an enormous rock slide just after our guide had told us to listen for it. Being on the glacier is an amazing experience. We felt safe and completely awed by it all. As we left the glacier, the sun came out. All in all, a perfect day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JulieHessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox Glacier Guiding also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Guiding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing