We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable Experience”

Fox Glacier Guiding
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It's our privilege to guide you on the West Coast's largest and less crowded glacier. It is one of New Zealand's truly natural wonders. Whether you are walking, heli-hiking or ice-climbing with us in this incredible environment, we can promise you a memory you'll cherish. We have a long guiding history on the glacier (guided walks first started in 1928). Those years of accumulated knowledge and experience mean weare able to guide you with complete confidence. You can rest assured we take your safety and comfort very seriously. Come and enjoy our friendly West Coast hospitality, experience the mighty Fox Glacier with us and create a lifetime memory. We have glacier trips suitable for most fitness levels and ages including children from 9 yrs. Our informative Glacier Terminal Face walk is suitable for children from 5 yrs or for those who would find the walks onto the glacier too strenuous.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I did the Quick Fox Glacier walk (1/2 day) a couple of weeks ago and we thoroughly enjoyed this, not every day you get to walk on a Glacier! We are so glad that we had the opportunity to do this, the views were amazing and climbing on the glacier was an incredible experience. Duncan our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and we felt safe the whole time. Hopefully, we will get the opportunity to come back again and try one of the more adventurous walks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 982melt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    157
    47
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Full Day Glacier Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Was on the full day glacier walk. Our guide was knowledgable and we felt very safe with him. A very fun day out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GangesLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Helihike - Fox Glacier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hike was a unique experience which the group of us will not forget our whole life. It's literally walking on slippery ice. Before we embarked, we had the wrong impression that it's going to be a piece of cake. We are in our late 30s or early 40s. One had to get used to walking with crampons. If your atheletic level is average, you will need to consider whether you want to spend 2 hours walking on slippery ice and pay NZ$400. If you just want to have a taste of how it's like, then I'd suggest you go for the normal hike with no helicopter (10 min on ice) which cost about NZ$100. Of course you will not get to see or experience blue icy tunnels. But you really need to be physically prepared for the hike. It's not really very tiring but if you're afraid to fall (potentially spraining your ankles), you're going to be nervous and won't enjoy the whole trip. My friend paid NZ$400 and I dont think she enjoyed it at all. Right from the beginning, she already planned to give up. Then half way through, she had blisters and painful for her walk. She wanted to stay at one spot and wait for us but the guide won't let her. She still had to walk no matter how painful it's for her.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing Manager at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your review, Fox Glacier is indeed a unique place to be and we love sharing it with our visitors.

We do note that there was some tentativeness about slippery ice. This is the very reason that we have crampons and walking in them is a different sensation. This is part of the experience. As you know our guides are specially trained to teach you how to walk in them and they are designed to grip the ice securely giving that sense of stability. We do urge anyone that doesn't feel 100% confident in them after the tutorial to let their guide know.

We also wanted to make sure that you knew the reason your friend was not allowed to "stay in one spot and wait". Our number one consideration in our operation is safety. Our guides are charged with the safety of everyone in their group, so all visitors must stay together. It is better to endure some blister pain than to compromise overall safety in an unstable environment.

Thank you once again and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind Regards
Jo Wisniewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

we prebooked a half day glacier walk, all equipment, boots and waterproofs provided plus a very knowledgeable guide. you need to be reasonably fit but it was a lovely experience, coach drive and walk up to the glacier and then some instruction, the weather closed in very quickly so we saw how fast things can change, by the end it was sunny agaIn. tiring but enjoyable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Our travel agent had booked us for a Fox trot walk a few months back. Due to changes and collapses of the glacier, we were told we had to change our plans. The staff told us they'd tried to get in touch with our travel agent, we'd had him twice over the phone before that trip and he had not been advised of any changes.

We switched to the other half day trip, which was again shortened due to bad weather, with no time on the ice at all. We were talked into staying with the guide, the girls, dani and Sarah were absolutely lovely. They gave us a lot of information and made the walk very enjoyable.

However, even after the refund, we still ended up paying 50 quid per person for walking 3/4 of the time on a public track. I do still feel ripped off.

The staff and guides are very kind and available but they shouldn't encourage people to pay for something they can do for free. It's left me a bitter sweet feeling about the whole thing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nmn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing Manager at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review. As an overview, April was a month of multiple weather events on the West Coast which proved challenging on an operational level and disrupted visitors plans to our region.

We apologise for the misunderstanding around the notification of change of trip to your travel agent. As international booking we have a specific channel to notify changes through and this does not involve talking to your own travel agent directly.

We are saddened to learn that you left us feeling "ripped off" as this is not the intention of a visit to us. As you felt so strongly about this we would have appreciated the opportunity to address this with you directly in the first instance.

Generically speaking a trip is turned around because it is unsafe to continue due to weather or environmental conditions such as rockfall etc. Safety is always our first and foremost consideration.

By your comments we deduce that your trip was turned around and into a terminal walk @ $NZD49 per person, not 50 quid (around $NZD100?) and as there are so many unknowns I do invite you to email me on jo@foxguides.co.nz so we can get to the bottom of the events of the day.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed Dani and Sarah's guiding and we are pleased to report we have been enjoying a lot more settled weather lately.

Kind Regards
Jo Wisniewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox Glacier Guiding also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Guiding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing