We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1/2 day Helihike - ticked off my bucket list” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Glacier Guiding

Fox Glacier Guiding
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It's our privilege to guide you on the West Coast's largest and less crowded glacier. It is one of New Zealand's truly natural wonders. Whether you are walking, heli-hiking or ice-climbing with us in this incredible environment, we can promise you a memory you'll cherish. We have a long guiding history on the glacier (guided walks first started in 1928). Those years of accumulated knowledge and experience mean weare able to guide you with complete confidence. You can rest assured we take your safety and comfort very seriously. Come and enjoy our friendly West Coast hospitality, experience the mighty Fox Glacier with us and create a lifetime memory. We have glacier trips suitable for most fitness levels and ages including children from 9 yrs. Our informative Glacier Terminal Face walk is suitable for children from 5 yrs or for those who would find the walks onto the glacier too strenuous.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Burpengary, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“1/2 day Helihike - ticked off my bucket list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Wow, what an amazing thing to do. The short trip in the helicopter was fun. I was a little disappointed it didn't fly the extra few minutes to give a view of the whole area. Not sure if they usually do but we were behind schedule after mechanical issues. They put safety first and called in another helicopter. My friend struggled on the ice, even with the grampons but the rest of us had no issues. It was exhilarating hiking on the glacier, and I loved every second. From a distance it looks quite smooth but is really quite rugged, with peaks, holes, caves and crevices. The guide cut out steps for us in difficult areas and as a woman not in peak fitness in late 40's I didn't have a problem. Don't let it stop you. We were blessed with perfect weather, which then came over in the afternoon, and worsened over the next several days so glad we took our small window of opportunity. It was worth the money (about $400 for 1/2 day).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kgn2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing Manager at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thanks for having us on your bucket list, it was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

To put your mind at ease the trip would not have been cut short due to swapping a helicopter out hence and causing the trip to run late. The scenic flight that you had is indeed what is usually included. A longer scenic flight would, of course incur more flying time and therefore more cost to our visitors.

Thanks for your review, we are happy to have left you with an amazing memory of your time with us on Fox Glacier.

Kind Regards
Jo Wisniewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    903
    154
    46
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brillant again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Travelling solo for the long weekend. Isnt NZ stunning. Did the nimble fox full day walk. Stunning ice - blue, white and dramatic.
I thought it an excellent trip and highly recommend. Caters for all the people on the group and on a stunning day it was a dream.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gordonp409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well organised, amazing experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

It was a really well organised tour. The guides are fantastic, they know so much, they move at an easy pace and don't leave anyone behind. There are lots of photo opportunities, amazing views. I felt safe the whole time, although it is a bit tricky in some parts. Definitely give it a go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennyF1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I did the Quick Fox Glacier walk (1/2 day) a couple of weeks ago and we thoroughly enjoyed this, not every day you get to walk on a Glacier! We are so glad that we had the opportunity to do this, the views were amazing and climbing on the glacier was an incredible experience. Duncan our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and we felt safe the whole time. Hopefully, we will get the opportunity to come back again and try one of the more adventurous walks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 982melt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Full Day Glacier Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Was on the full day glacier walk. Our guide was knowledgable and we felt very safe with him. A very fun day out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GangesLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox Glacier Guiding also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Guiding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing