We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice motel in Fox Glacier” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainforest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainforest Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice motel in Fox Glacier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rainforest Motel in Fox Glacier in October 2013. The location is great, as it's on the main road and you can walk to restaurants, shops, etc. when the weather permits. It's also very close to Fox Glacier itself as well as Lake Matheson. The rooms weren't anything spectacular in terms of luxury, but that wasn't the purpose of our trip. They are quite large though with a sitting area and a small kitchenette. We only stayed in Fox Glacier for one night, but this motel was a great choice and was a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    109
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
65
123
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Well, it's hard not to stay in a perfect location since Fox Glacier is so small but I really liked the fact that it was two properties away from the main street, making everything easily accessible on foot (3-4 minutes). The motel was clean, spacious, comfortable, etc. The host was very helpful as well.

Here's my Internet connection review: the wifi access was free but it kept disconnecting over and over again, terrible. The signal has to be boosted somehow!

Overall, recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NebuCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a nice motel to stay in when visiting the Fox Glacier. The location is ideal, close to the shops, tour operators, hotel and restaurants and with good views of the mountains. The room had a comfortable bed, good kitchenette and nice bathroom, all in a quiet location. Managers were helpful and friendly. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicAlan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Rainforest Motel was one of our favourite places that we stayed in New Zealand (and there were lots!). The rooms was great - big, clean and very comfortable and ours had a great view of the mountains behind. This motel offers great value for money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReadingHolidaywanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Should have stayed here for two nights but due to Haast Pass closure sadly only had one. But the long 12 hour drive from Wanaka was worth it. We were warmly welcomed and got lots of advice and maps about the area. We were delighted with our spacious room. Everything was spotlessly clean. The kitchenette was well equipped and had a table and chairs. Comfy sofa and bed with good quality pillows, bed linen and towels. There was a heater in the lounge and bedroom so we were soon warm on a cold and rainy day. Bathroom was large with a good shower and lots of hot water.
The location is amazing, we couldn't get enough of the views and the peace and quiet.
Next morning when we checked out we were only charged for one night. (We had advised them we would be a day late but expected to have to pay for both). I felt this was very fair.
If you are visiting Fox Glacier I recommend a stay at this lovely motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Clean and comfortable motel with great views of the mountains. The hosts were really friendly and helpful. Our kids loved playing in the little river that runs behind the motel.We would recommend the Rainforest Motel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Rainforest Motel is your typical older style motel but don't be put off by that thought, the hosts were lovely and helpful, the room large and furnishings very comfortable. There is a nice grassy park-like area and a great view up into the mountains. Wi-fi is free but can be a bit hit and miss if storms are around. Considering where you are don't expect to find too much better and it's more than enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamiwinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Motel

Property: Rainforest Motel
Address: 15 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rainforest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Motel Fox Glacier
Rainforest Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing