We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful”
Review of Rainforest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainforest Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

After being let down late at night by another motel Andy & Kate were very welcoming and friendly - sorting us out @ 9pm with their last room and a discount for the late booking as we're a couple and took their last apartment that slept 5.
Clean. Comfy. Convenient and close to town. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEM1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    116
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
69
129
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This motel is nice, clean, comfortable and very close to the township.
The 2 bedrooms apartment is spacious, the kitchen is well equipped. Parking easy.
The shower is big enough and the towels are soft. Beds are rather comfortable for that kind of hotel. (just the air dryer is not powrfull enough => hard to dry your hair !!)
The ower is very nice and helpful.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment itself was tired and needed some updating but having said that it was still comfortable, clean and spacious with a well stocked kitchen. The apartments were well located close to the main street and the views from the apartments were stunning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemaryg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived in November to a warm welcome from the owner after an eight hour drive. He also gave us a map of the area and the information we needed to find the glacier and Lake Matheson. Motel room was clean, tidy and provided all amenities we needed. Within walking distance to the township.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Fox glacier is a lovely place to stay and is less busy that Franz Josef. The views from Rainforest motel are wonderful and the staff are helpful. We stayed two nights and our room was a good size, well equipped and clean but sadly in need of maintenance/refurbishment as the apartment was rather tired looking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at this small motel for two nights in December and we loved our stay here. The location is perfect as it's a two minutes' walk to all the shops - afterall it's a really really small town.

We booked a two bedroom and it could have been enough for 6 pax! I should have booked a 1 bedroom as it's really spacious. The whole property is very well maintained, with perfect garden and greens everywhere. Facilities are basic but sufficient and everything were kept very clean. Owners/staff are friendly and is always willing to help.

The only thing that's not really functioning is the wifi. It's non-existent if it showed that we are successfully connected. Not too much trouble for us as we have a local data package and we connected all our devices with the personal hotspot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosmhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The rooms were clean and while they were not luxurious, they were comfortable and had all the basic necessities. They were also spacious and had full kitchens which was convenient. The motel is just a few minutes walk to all the restaurants and guided tours. It was a good base for us to visit the glacier. The host was very friendly, and suggested we advance our glacier tour booking due to the weather, which was a great call. The only problem we had was that the WiFi signal was very weak in rooms 4 and 10.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Motel

Property: Rainforest Motel
Address: 15 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Rainforest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Motel Fox Glacier
Rainforest Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing