We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent dinner”

Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Cook Saddle Cafe and Saloon offers locals and visitors a variety of menu options at reasonable prices in a warm and friendly country atmosphere.Our wide menu selection includes ala carte and group menu’s, while our popular western style meals are enjoyed by young and old. A children’s menu is available and we endeavour to meet special dietary requirements upon request.The restaurant offers indoor and outdoor dining and during the cooler months visitors can relax and unwind by the cosy open fire.The saloon is full of local history, a comfortable place for visitors to the West Coast region to catch up with the locals and perhaps hear a few good old stories from days gone by!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A decent dinner”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The food was decent, but the night we were there, the service was less than great. Our server was also the bartender, which was a little odd. This would be good with kids, I think.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    176
    79
    40
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude duty manager”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I ordered some fast food from the takeaway menu and my order was taken by the dour duty manager. The wait was long despite the establishment being relatively empty. The waiting staff were pleasant and courteous. My food eventually arrived and was thrust in my direction by the duty manager who said nothing and did not even bother to glance in my direction. Luckily the food was pleasant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
2 reviews
“Best night in NZ”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My fiance and I pulled in for a late dinner around 9pm (which was awesome) and stuck around for a few beers. It was 4 am before we could stop laughing long enough to beg the bartender to stop filling up our "last beer”. Ice Climbing with a hangover was well worth the hospitality!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good meal, but forgot the starter!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Ordered garlic bread to share for a starter and then the lamb shank and BBQ ribs for main. We waited quite a while for the food, and the mains came out - no starter! The food was delicious so we didn't question the lack of starter and the meals were plentiful so we didn't actually need it. It also didn't appear on the bill so we we left the place quite satisfied.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced rubbish ”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I'm sorry but $12 for garlic bread!!!??? Not even in a fine dining restaurant! Food took ages and everything was overcooked to death. Waitresses acted unprofessionally and had overserved one gentleman alcohol who was lurching around the tables spilling his beer and swearing in front of children. Have you heard of responsible service of alcohol???

Helpful?
1 Thank Rara1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing