We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saloon”

Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cook Saddle Cafe and Saloon offers locals and visitors a variety of menu options at reasonable prices in a warm and friendly country atmosphere.Our wide menu selection includes ala carte and group menu’s, while our popular western style meals are enjoyed by young and old. A children’s menu is available and we endeavour to meet special dietary requirements upon request.The restaurant offers indoor and outdoor dining and during the cooler months visitors can relax and unwind by the cosy open fire.The saloon is full of local history, a comfortable place for visitors to the West Coast region to catch up with the locals and perhaps hear a few good old stories from days gone by!
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Saloon”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

First impression of Fox Glacier coming from Wanaka was wow. Headed into town for food and fuel and wished we could get through without. The non welcome started at the petrol station where the attendant didn't bother stop having a chat with her girlfriend whilst I paid my bill without uttering a word in my direction. Rocked into the saloon fanging for a feed. The open was a nice find with period interiors of the region. As the only guests we found it interesting listening to the staff meeting occurring at the same time and ordered. Fish burger $18 ok, pasta special $26 really good but avoid the so called Pizza $19. Never heard of chilli and some Parmesan will cost you extra 25% on the price. What is pizza on stale ciabatta anyhow? The town was very dead and lacked character. Couldn't get out of there quick enough. Headed into Franz Josef 30 mins later and what a find. Great vibe and selections of places to eat including gourmet burger bar and eighty eight fusion Asian bar with live music. If you can make it to FJ take the chance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JD70147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    171
    77
    36
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude service”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After arriving in town after dark, we headed out to find some takeaway for dinner. We came across this Cafe and decided to give it a go as it was packed which is always a good sign as well as being the only place open advertising takeaway meals. When we were parking our van outside the pub many of the guests seated inside stared at us like we had just landed from outer space. We walked inside and when we were eventually served, we asked to look at the takeaway menu. The menu was thrust into our hands by a staff member who didn't care if we were there or not and we were given no explanation as to whether we could order anything from the menu or we had to stick to those items specifically labelled "takeaway" which were just side-orders of chips or spring-rolls. We decided to walk away and go next door to Cafe Neve where the service was excellent. From the sound of other reviews on here, the Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon lost of lot of money from us that night all because of their bad service. Highly recommend you stay away and go to Cafe Neve instead.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Terrible service not welcoming to visitors at menu was tossed at us on the bar and the staff member wandered off never to be seen again we walked out, glad we did as neves next door served us an awesome pizza with great customer service do yourself a favour and don't bother with this place

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
248 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Pleasant food in average surroundings”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Dinner was nice enough, although the menu was a bit limited, but the service was fine.

You could sit outside if you wanted

prices were reasonable

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were there for some drinks in the evening. The staff was friendly, the restaurant has a good atmosphere. Outdoor seating very pleasant when nice and warm evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank jaroslav s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing