We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing building, but a shame about the...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Church at FOX

The Church at FOX
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Church at FOX
Walk in shower View from mezzanine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
The Church at FOX
Walk in shower
View from mezzanine
Lounge area
Alps end of the building
Dining and Lounge area from mezzanine
Dining and lounge from Kitchen
Dining and kitchen from Lounge
Main King Size bed
Bedroom from Mezzanine
Bedroom
Bathroom basin & mirror
Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen area
Complimentary Red Bridge Central Otago Pinot Noir
Sign
Outdoor area
Mezzanine roof
Bathroom
Mezzanine roof
Ceiling and roof beams
View from the carpark at dusk
Southern Alps end of the building at dusk
Lounge area
Lounge area as the sun goes down
Carpark end of the building as the sun goes down
Lounge area and pulpit viewed from the mezzanine
The Church at FOX at night
The Church at FOX from the street
The Church at FOX viewed from the road at dusk
Original church artefacts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), West Coast Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Little_Mi...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Amazing building, but a shame about the inadequate heating”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Positives:
- Interesting building (great idea to restore it), decorated beautifully, well equipped kitchen and facilities, comfortable couch for cosying up, free bottle of wine on arrival.

Negatives:
- FREEZING! Really spoiled the whole experience for me. One AC unit to heat the entire place doesn't cut it. Left it on all night along with a small heater we found and ceiling fan but the building was still ice cold the following morning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful building - modern decor.
Liked least: Poor heating.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
We appreciate that it can be a big adjustment coming from the heat of the tropics to the middle of NZ in winter, however when we checked we found that this guest had not followed the clear instructions in the house manual and the heat pump (which is the largest commercial grade that we could source) was not set correctly. Because of the very high vaulted ceiling its never going to be 30 degrees inside in the middle of winter, but if its set right then you can get it a reasonable temperature inside the building
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowangee
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We only stayed one night at the Church and I am sad we didn't stay for longer. This is a property which has clearly been lovingly renovated with a lot of thought given to interior design and clever use of space. The exposed beams alone deserved to be photographed! The kitchen was ideal, brand new and modern, the bed was so comfortable, the little living area was a perfect place for us to unwind, the bathroom was beautiful and the whole place was filled with natural light. I honestly can't fault it. AJ was very helpful before we arrived, and very friendly over email. Thank you so much for the bottle of wine and for making our experience at Fox Glacier so much more special. This is a unique property which I thoroughly recommend to anyone staying in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Thanks so much Rowan - I'm really happy that you had such a great time and enjoyed the environment as much as I do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geaterm
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“This place is amazing”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Whilst travelling up the west coast of nz and looking for a place to stay, we were told there was a brand new luxury apartment for hire. How amazed we were to find that it was an old converted church and we had hired the whole place. The finish was beautiful with full height ceilings, rimu floors, many original features loving restored by the owner as well as all modern conveniences including full walk in shower, and full kitchen. And the owner had left us a bottle of wine, which we very much enjoyed!
We spent one fantastic night here and hope one day to return for more.
We definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Historical features and open space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelleh...
2 reviews
“A luxurious and unique experience”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The church is a beautiful building and has been lovingly resorted, with very tasteful design. We loved staying here.

Only negatives, and I'm being fussy now however we paid a premium price for two nights and would have expected more than 2 coffee pods and 3 tea bags for a two night stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard H
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect fusion of elegance, quality and the building's spiritual heritage”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Church at FOX is located at the edge of this most picturesque village - more quiet and intimate than its larger neighbour, Franz Josef.

The Church as been renovated to a very high standard and with impeccable taste. The integrity of the building has been retained including features such as the pulpit and baptismal font, and a beautiful lofted ceiling.

AJ was a most obliging and welcoming host

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of furnishings, sensitive restoration of original building
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing