We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fox Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights stay with Karen very much, great location that has fantastic view wiht mountains covered by snow. Karen is true person with kindy heart, she is very informative and helpful to ensure we have best of use of our time from the moment when we arrive. We would recommond her place to all of our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelineyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    34
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
117
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

This was our first b&b stay in NZ. Our room was huge so was the bed. It was well appointed and comfortable. Our host Karen was great, so friendly a d knowledgeable. She helped us get the best use from our time and was just a nice relaxed person to chat with. We loved our stay here and waking up to fantastic views each morning.

We were. Short drive from lake Matheson and fox glacier so very well placed.

Thanks Karen - Chris d Michael

Room Tip: We were in the Aubergine room which we loved for te space, the views and the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthendersEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Karen is a terrific hostess and her full english breakfast was the best.
She is full of good information about the surrounding area and beyond.
The accommodations are modern and spacious and the property has wonderful views of the mountains. Do try to take a photo of her pond with the mountains in the background, we forgot.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We had a spacious and spotless room and Karen made us very welcome even though we turned up a bit early. This is a beautiful part of the world and the view from this B&B fantastic when the cloud is not covering the mountain. Good value and quiet.

Room Tip: We chose the Aubergine Room and were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
249 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Karen is absolutely lovely. She goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need. She knows people in the business and can get a lot done for you in ways of helicopter rides, restaurant bookings etc. Her property is very beautiful,modern and very kid friendly. Its very close to everything and the views are gorgeous.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Karen is great. She is really friendly and knows a lot about the surrounding area and is always keen to let you know what is the best thing to do, at the best time, depending on the weather. Do listen to her: we followed her advice and had a great time. The house itself has all the basic facilities you need, and is in a fantastic, peaceful location, off the beaten track with amazing views of the mountains and only a 2 minute drive from all the local amenities of Fox village. It is definitely better staying in Fox than Franz. As Karen will tell you, the best things to do are go to Lake Matheson early in the morning, fly to the glaciers (or hike on them if you are fit enough) and go to see the glow worms in the wood at dusk. Karen reminded me of an old landlady I used to stay with time and again in the UK Lake District. She is a gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Amazing views and beautiful room. Karen looked after us really well with great breakfasts and really good advice about how to spend our time in Fox. Was a real highlight for us on our driving trip around the south island.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Address: Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to my peaceful Fox Glacier hideaway, set on 8 acres of "Pure Nature" at its best. This modern country home has it all. With wide-open landscape, breathtaking views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, and surrounded by bush-clad hills with a magnificent reflection on my own special pond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing