We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsboro, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Beautiful property, wonderful breakfasts and Karen was a fantastic host and very knowledgeable about the area's activities and restaurants.

  • Liked — Mountain views
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    34
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
118
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

My wife and I stayed with Karen for 2 nights. Great views, great breakfasts, very comfortable accoms. Great advice on local activities and restaurants as well.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cajunnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
282 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We stayed in the lemon cottage which is totally seperate and private. While basic in decor, it is spotless and has a lovely little porch with a table and 2 chairs with beautiful views of Fox Glacier on a clear day. During our stay we had rain, rain and more rain so it was impossible to see anything. We had a small fridge, a 2 burner hot plate, microwave, 2 channel TV, a table and chair for eating, a king size bed with 2 night tables and a bathroom with shower stall, more than adequate to suit us. Karen is a delightful, knowledgeable host, provides a wonderful cooked or continental breakfast and her home is immaculate.

  • Liked — The host, Karen Simpson and having the privacy of a seperate unit.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SengaMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

Travelling round NZ for 2 weeks, this was definitely in the top 3 places to stay. Beautifully quiet location in farmland just outside Fox Glacier (which is much less commercial the Franz Josef), with comfortable accommodation and an extremely friendly host. Stunning views of Mt. Cook in the morning. Having had 10 years as a travel guide in NZ, Kaye had great contacts and ideas for activities as well as being the perfect B&B host. Plus the breakfast was delicious. The helicopter stored in the barn did take off at about 7am but most of us slept through the noise and we had been warned so it just added to the out of this world atmosphere!

  • Liked — Views and helpful owner
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TCSCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

We stayed for two nights in a little cottage next to the main house, which is basically one room with a bathroom attached and a small terrace. The view over towards the mountains is spectacular and the cottage was very clean, with a small kitchen area withing the main room. A good full breakfast is served in the main house where Karen has several other rooms to rent. Karen is very friendly and gave us lots of advice about the local area. It is a short car ride to both Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson.

Helpful?
Thank Wrinkly one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Address: Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to my peaceful Fox Glacier hideaway, set on 8 acres of "Pure Nature" at its best. This modern country home has it all. With wide-open landscape, breathtaking views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, and surrounded by bush-clad hills with a magnificent reflection on my own special pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing