We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic cottage with amazing hosts, amazing scenery and gorgeous farm animals”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franz Josef
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Perivale Farm Cottage
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Basic cottage with amazing hosts, amazing scenery and gorgeous farm animals”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

A basic cottage, but has everything you need. Coming from Queensland I was worried I would be cold. Not a chance! Very toasty inside with choices of air con, oil heater and even fireplace. A whole wheelbarrow of wood was left for us and an axe is provided to chop up if needing kindling, which we did. Despite the rain, we loved our stay. The kids got to collect fresh eggs, Eric gave us fresh cows milk. Sheep & a lamb right outside our cottage, with chooks, goats and calves outside our window too. Also 3 lovely friendly dogs, especially snow who loved pats and visited us a few times. Free wifi, which the kids loved too. Would definitely recommend. Thank you Donna &Eric our hosts. And also Graham the owner, a lovely bloke who loves his rugby league... Just as we do!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlepaws01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundaring, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Situated on the road after Franz Josef, this little old cottage that isn't perfect was extremely comfortable and warm. It has a heat pump (Air conditioner) and radiators that was enough to keep the place warm if you couldn't be bothered with the fire. We had to buy fire-lighters but failed at lighting the fire as there wasn't any kindling. This could have been done better by the hosts. The beds were comfortable and facilities clean. Would stay there again. Didn't see any cows and didn't get fresh milk which was a little disappointing after reading previous reviews. I think the owners need to install either a window or extraction fan in the toilet...if you know what I mean.

Room Tip: Carry some air freshener for the W/C or light a match...:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Accommodation is simple in an old cottage with a bedroom, separate wc and bathroom, and open plan lounge with kitchen area. There’s a great deck at the rear of the property with views over the farm and back to the glacier area just over the hill. Fittings are also simple.
There’s a warm welcome, with milk fresh from the cow and the invitation to select your own eggs from the nearby chook hut. Sheep graze just outside the window.
It’s a great place to stay for visiting the glaciers, if you are happy with simple accommodation, which now needs a little freshening up.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardfernbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Perivale last March 2012 for 2 nights, and we loved it. The cottage may not seem so amazing from the outside, but when you get inside, it feels like home. It is self contained which made it more private, and the host's house is a few meters away. It is in a farm, but the cottage is right by the main road side, very easy to find, and with a parking area. Donna gave us fresh cow's milk, yummy! And showed us where to get fresh eggs from the poultry area. While my husband was out hiking the glaciers, Eric taught me and allowed me to milk the cows. It was a wonderful experience! The cottage was clean and comfortable, and the area was really quiet at night. Donna and Eric were really nice. If we'd go back to Franz Josef, we would definitely stay at Perivale again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DespicableMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Set your expectations right beforehand. Three of us stayed at the farm in late nov 2011. It was peaceful, quiet and private. Just what we were looking for. The indoor facilities were clean and adequate. Outside could do better cleanup especially right around the cottage. But we dont expect much as it is a farm. The hosts were quite occupied running it, i almost feel guilty interrupting them. But rest assured, they are quite friendly and accomodating. Donna showed us around and brought us fresh milk. If you want the experience of living in a fully functioning farm, this is it. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ix18lr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

On arrival at the cottage we were greeted by Eric and Donna who were extremely welcoming. After giving us some time to relax, Donna then showed us where we could collect some fresh free range eggs that we could cook for our breakfast - they were lovely. We were also introduced to some of the various farm occupants - the goats, Snowy, Lacie, and Chelsea the 3 dogs, and Ace the horse (to name a few). The cottage was beautifully presented and clean, and in the middle of winter was extremely warm and cosy. The cottage contained a great range of DVD's, books, and toys for big and small. We would definitely recommend Perivale Farm Cottage to anyone looking for accomodation in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymakerz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

This is a hidden gem just outside the town of Franz Josef, on a working dairy farm. We were offered free range eggs and fresh (really fresh) milk from the farm when we arrived which pretty much set the tone of complete hospitality and 100% friendliness by Eric and Donna. Although we didn't have a car, it was very easy to hitch in and out of town, I walked it on one occasion which was really enjoyable. The cottage is spotless and extremely comfortable, although we never needed to use the log burner, I'd say it would have added even more to the atmosphere. The bed was really comfy, everything was fresh and clean, and if we'd had any sunshine, the views from the deck were stunning! Watch out for those sand flies, they seem to come with the west coast region, but other than that I would rank this cottage as one of my highlights on my first visit to New Zealand. Thanks so much to Perivale Farm, Donna, Eric, Kayla, the dogs, cat, chickens, goats, sheep and cattle :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.0 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perivale Farm Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perivale Farm Cottage

Property: Perivale Farm Cottage
Address: 307 State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Josef Glacier self-contained family holiday house in farmstay location minutes from Franz Josef township, Westland National Park and glaciers. Budget self-catering modern cottage accommodation for families visiting the South Island's West Coast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing