We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glacier Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
15
19
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
19
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were a family of 4 staying Easter 2012. The cabins are clean and roomy, 5 minutes drive to town. The cabins are on a miniature horse farm with a million dollar view looking up to the glacier. Sitting on the verandah with cheese and wine watching the helicopters flying, the little horses and the amazing glacier view was such a treat. The owner let me use her washing machine while they were out. There was a stock of movies to watch as well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

These cottages are a short drive out of Franz Josef and well off the highway so road noise is minimal. Our cottage was clean and comfortable without being luxurious and importantly warm. We stayed for one night and would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at these cottages a few nights ago. The cabins are spacious and the staff very friendly. As long as you have a car, it's a fantastic location with gorgeous views, only a short trip into town. Another added bonus is the DVD player having a functioning USB capability - a rarity in accomodations these days! Very cosy, thanks for having us :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessieK1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed in cottage 3 for 1 night. This is a great motel in a great location. Plenty of room for four people in the lounge room and the two seperate bedrooms - both bedrooms had queensize beds and one bedroom also had a single bed. The kitchen was a good size and well equiped. Everything was clean and tidy. Drinks on the little deck at sunset with views of the river, mountains and Franz Josef Glacier cannot be beaten. The wireless internet only works in the office.

Room Tip: Cottage 3 is the newest.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GEM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We (2A, 2C) stayed in cottage 1 for 2 nights. The photos do not do the cottage justice as it is quite luxurious and spacious and far better than any motel rooms we have seen in the area. One queen bed is adjacent to living areas and there is one separate bedroom with a queen plus space for a fold up-bed. There is a well-equipped kitchen with a fridge, 2 hotplates and a microwave. Wifi (which costs $2 per day on an honesty-box system) for our laptop was fine throughout the cottage but the ipods worked only near the bedroom window closest to reception. Toilet paper supplies were a bit stingy (we ran out!) and the shower temp fluctuated a bit but turning it off and on again seemed to fix this and these were the only flaws in a fantastic stay. TV reception was excellent (freeview channels) and there is a DVD player in the cottage with DVDs for hire ($5 for 2), and the heater quickly warmed the whole cottage in the evenings. Children loved the horses and the dogs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews