We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cabin views.”
Review of Glacier Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Cottages
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cabin views.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Great cabins, very picturesque. Great views of the snow covered mountains from the cabin. Only complaint was that it was advertised as a two bedroom, however it's really a 1 bedroom cabin with a 2nd double bed in the lounge. Also, would be good if there were fly screen on doors and windows, otherwise all the sand flies raid the cabin when doors and windows are open. Cabin has a nice small kitchen. Would stay again. Cabins were very new and free wifi worked well in the cabin.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victorian
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

One of the worst properties we've stayed in. The owners don't seem very interested in maintaining their cottages and seem to focus on their other business/farming ventures. We were greeted with a note on the office door and wouldn't have seen the hosts if we didn't seek them out.
The cottage door lock could be opened without a key if you jiggled it enough, the crockery was very dirty and we felt uncomfortable using it. The bed was old/poor quality and with a very soft/springy feel and the shower head was awful (with a big dry void in the middle).
The view was spectacular (if you looked beyond the 3 old concrete trucks parked by the side of the river) but unfortunately the glacier has retreated so much that it can no longer bee seen from this area.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and stay in one of the larger hotels in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayMaker859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Overall this was a fine place to stay. A group of 5 of us stayed in the cabin and we had ample space for all of us. Unfortunately due to the rain we were not able to see the views so I'm not sure how spectacular they were, but I'm sure they were fine. My only complaint is that they didn't come and clean up the rooms (or make-up the beds) during the day. The cottage was fine, but not particularly beautifully decorated, but it suited our needs just fine and was close to town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were a family of 4 staying Easter 2012. The cabins are clean and roomy, 5 minutes drive to town. The cabins are on a miniature horse farm with a million dollar view looking up to the glacier. Sitting on the verandah with cheese and wine watching the helicopters flying, the little horses and the amazing glacier view was such a treat. The owner let me use her washing machine while they were out. There was a stock of movies to watch as well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

These cottages are a short drive out of Franz Josef and well off the highway so road noise is minimal. Our cottage was clean and comfortable without being luxurious and importantly warm. We stayed for one night and would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at these cottages a few nights ago. The cabins are spacious and the staff very friendly. As long as you have a car, it's a fantastic location with gorgeous views, only a short trip into town. Another added bonus is the DVD player having a functioning USB capability - a rarity in accomodations these days! Very cosy, thanks for having us :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieK1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed in cottage 3 for 1 night. This is a great motel in a great location. Plenty of room for four people in the lounge room and the two seperate bedrooms - both bedrooms had queensize beds and one bedroom also had a single bed. The kitchen was a good size and well equiped. Everything was clean and tidy. Drinks on the little deck at sunset with views of the river, mountains and Franz Josef Glacier cannot be beaten. The wireless internet only works in the office.

Room Tip: Cottage 3 is the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GEM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Franz Alpine Retreat
Franz Alpine Retreat
#4 of 12 in Franz Josef
289 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Cottages

Property: Glacier Cottages
Address: State Highway 6 | Tatare Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Glacier Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Cottages Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing